We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Townhouse Restaurant

Old Townhouse Restaurant
Cnr York & Market Street, George 6530, South Africa
0448743663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 71 Restaurants in George
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: African, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open for lunch Mondays to Fridays from 12:00 to 14:30 and Open for Dinner Mondays to Saturdays from 18:00 till late.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

great friendly service with stunning food,well worth a visit.On a golf trip we were lucky to get a reservation and I can highly recommend.Great variety of well prepared and tasty food at really reasonable prices

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    26
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful meat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Oldy worldly no frills style restaurant. Also courtyard dining for better weather! Run by mum and daughter, food cooked by local women and not chef trained but you would never know! Our family had the most amazing fillet steak and venison, followed by homemade pavlova and my son had cinnamon, white choc and caramel/nut ice cream. Highly recommended. So so cheap but then SA does seem to be cheap for food. Please book and try

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

4 of us went to the Old Towwnhouse in George last night.booking was made only 2 hours before and every effort was made to accommodate us although they were full.great friendly welcome, comfortable seating and prompt service.starters were great,ample portions and well presented- wide choice for all.the main courses we had a special for the night- fillet chasseur which was tender ,perfectly cooked,great flavor served with delicious crunchy potatoes and a side salad,nicely finely cut up-others had pepper fillet, rump and line fish of the day - cob. All beautifully prepared ,exactly as requested. You must leave "space" for their homemade ice cream!!!
We shared one portion which consisted of 3 balls- cinnamon,chocolate& walnut,and peanut butter and honey- worth all the calories!!!! Our waitron was from Cork in Ireland and was fantastic!!this will be the first restaurant I visit on my return to George.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Simply scrumptious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by locals. Its rustic and cosy atmosphere is very welcoming, and the outside tables looked good for summer visits. We both had extremely tender beef fillet Napoleon with a good portion of vegetables that were interestingly presented. The home-made ice cream - 10 or so different flavours - I had lemon meringue, coconut and white chocolate, was quite simply scrumptious. Very attentive, friendly and fast service. Very varied menu. We will definately visit again next time we are in George.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, Western Cape, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and a lovely warm and cosy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

In my opinion, the best restaurant in George. The food is delicious you cant go wrong, I have tried many of the dishes as I go there often. All delicious! You can see that they are owner run by the consistent quality of their food, its not for no reason they have been around for ages. Being set in an old townhouse the restaurant is very cosy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Townhouse Restaurant also viewed

George, Western Cape
 
George, Western Cape
George, Western Cape
 

Been to Old Townhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Townhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.