We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outeniqua Transport Museum

Outeniqua Transport Museum
2 Mission Road | George, George 6530, South Africa
+27(0) 44 801-8289
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in George
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Stockport
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A surprising treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I went here purely to get the scenic train ride into the mountains. We weren't even aware there was a museum here, and are not train buffs anyway - but this was a revelation. The museum houses a dozen or more engines from the days of steam. You can climb on the footplate of some and play at being the driver! In addition, there is quite a lot of rolling stock with particularly interesting displays of the opulent carriages that the rich and famous used to ride in during the heyday of rail travel. One ornate dining car serves as a cafeteria for visitors.
In addition to the trains there is a collection of around 30 vintage cars, all in immaculate condition; plus examples of other forms of transport (including a horse drawn hearse).
If you are looking for somewhere to break your journey for an hour or two, or somewhere to visit (especially if the weather is bad - because this is all indoors) then this could be ideal. It was the surprise find of our entire trip.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    46
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Good Old Days of Railway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I went on the power van that operates from the Railway museum. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip. I even recommeded the trip to my dad when he was visiting me for a holiday. He really enjoyed the scenery up the pass.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great for locomotive lovers and petrol heads”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Loved it! Large selection of vintage cars and railway equipment on display. Very informative. Get up close and personal with locomotives. Indoor venue, so perfect for rainy days. Entrance fee is a mere R20, most definitely worth it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Railway Museum in George is a wonderful trip down memory lane!
The whole family will love this place. It is kept immaculate. Other than the old trains there is also other old means of transport to see - a lot of beautiful old cars on display as well. From here you can take the Outeniqua Tjoo tjoo train up the Outeniqua mountains behind George. On a lovely clear day the views are spectacular.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best museums I've seen.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This museum takes you back to many years ago.
There are so many trains of different times. Very well displayed and gives you the history of our railway. The steam locomotives are also very well displayed. Motor cars of all ages are also to be seen. There is a lovely restaurant in one of the trains, where you can have a nice meal after you've been through the museum.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outeniqua Transport Museum also viewed

George, Western Cape
 
George, Western Cape
 

Been to Outeniqua Transport Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outeniqua Transport Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.