We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious living in George” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Historic Homestead

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fairview Historic Homestead to your Saves list
Fairview Historic Homestead
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   36 Stander Street, George 6530, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 50 George B&B and Inns
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Gracious living in George”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Fairview Historic Homestead on 21 and 22 December. From arrival and seeing the absolutely beautiful gardens to leaving after one of the best guest house breakfasts ever, we were totally thrilled by the venue & our hosts. The gorgeous antique furniture and individually decorated rooms full of the owners' personal knick knacks made you feel like you're in an Edwardian movie - without any of the stiffness associated with the era though! Our stay was easy, relaxing and professional, with all the personal touches you would expect and more. One tiny niggle which may have to be pointed out for some travellers is that our downstairs bedroom, although beautifully appointed with everything you want, did not have a door between the bedroom and the bathroom. Luckily we had a stunning private patio right outside our room, where one could sit outside with a cup of coffee whilst one's partner did the neccessary! (Just to stress that this didn't worry us much, but I know people for whom this would be totally unacceptable!). All in all, would stay over again in a flash, loved every minute - and thanks to Philda and Des for all the advice, their kindness and for picking up my cell phone, which I had carelessly left lying around. (Shows you how homely this place is - you feel like just leaving your stuff all over the place!)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
28
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ardee, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Wonderful old Georgian homestead, nestled under the mountain in George.
Philda was such a gracious hostess , the home so tastefully furnished with such attention to detail. Wonderful breakfasts at the poolside with a super view of the mountain.
Great evening drinks and chats at the fireside with her and her husband Desmond , who is such an interesting gentleman who spends hours scratching around in his beautiful garden, and despite the drought has managed to keep it all going !
This was not our first visit and will not be our last !
At our request, Philda cooked us a really great dinner aswell.
A truly special experience and looking forward to returning !

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Beautiful, historic home, stunning gardens, delicious food, gracious hosts! What more could one want?

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Spacious room and the house has lovely gardens. Breakfast was brlliant.
Highly Recommended

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

We stayed at Fairview for 1 night passing through George. We were greeted warmly by Dadi who gave us great tips on things to see and do and who had kindly arranged dinner for us next door (thanks Charlene and Albert!) after a long day of travelling. The room was fabulous – lovely wooden floors and furnishings, enormous comfortable bed and beautiful shutters on the windows. We were served a lovely breakfast in the morning before having to move on to our next destination. We definitely recommend this as the place to stay in George if you like romantic, old-world charm and friendly service. Thanks Dadi!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

We chose the Fairview B&B in George to break-up the Cape Town to Plettenbeg Bay drive. George may not have a lot of sights, but it is pleasant enough and well located for Oudtshoorn and the nearby beaches.

The house looks and feels like an old stately home in the UK - antique furniture, quaintly decorated rooms. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. Philda and Des are most welcoming, had great recommendations for restaurants and things to do in the area.

Breakfast is served either in the grand dining room or on the lovely terrace overlooking the pool. The avocado omelette with home grown avocado and eggs was delicious. The complimentary port and home-made coockies were a real treat.

Although not specifically advertised as child friendly, I would highly recommend it for families. The chickens at the far end corner of the garden kept our four-year-old entertained for hours and the grounds are rather spacious. The hosts had some lovely old children books and kids TV channels for extra entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

Got the details from the 'Greenwood Guide' when we considered breaking up the distance with a stop at George during our trip along the Garden Route.

Although the town is quite industrial, it's well worth the effort. The people were fantastic, and some of the sights are beautiful.

Fairview is a treasure of a place. The downstairs room that we had was fabulously decorated with a well-stocked fire for the evening, complimentary port to truly 'warm the cockles', and hosts who were ever-attentive and helpful.

Breakfast was an absolute delight, and rounded off a fabulous, if all too brief, stay.

If you can time it right, drop-in when the annual cheese and wine festival is on (which we did). It put's the good food show to shame. P.S. Don't drive to it!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Historic Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Historic Homestead

Address: 36 Stander Street, George 6530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Historic Homestead 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today this George landmark property, dating back to 1864, has been sympathetically restored and is a Boutique B&B targeting garden enthusiasts and people with an appreciation for history and heritage. Philda is responsible for the running of the Guest House – assisted by Elize (who can also speak German, Dutch and French) and housekeepers, Eveline and Monica. Desmond is a gardener and plant collector – even when we lived on the edge of the Namib desert he had a container garden where the plants were fussed over and pampered to thrive under those harsh conditions. He works as a medical doctor and enjoys the physical aspect of gardening – joking that he’ll join the gym and start golf when he retires from gardening. We have a large kitchen garden – we even have a small orchard and keep our own chickens. Family rooms; off-street parking; wifi; Swimming pool; dinner by arrangement; Wheel Chair Access; selected DSTV channels on medium sized flat screen televisions. Do consider staying a few days: George is the hub of golf in the Garden Route with many of South Africa’s top courses within a 60km radius. We can organize a guided tour of the garden Route wine route, paragliding, bungee jumping, game drives to Bottelierskop Game Reserve and trips to the Seal Island and/or Shark cage diving in Mossel Bay... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fairview Historic Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Historic Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.