We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view to wake up to” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dutton's Cove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dutton's Cove
Herolds Bay, Garden Route | Suite 42 PO Box 6590, George 6530, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Specialty lodging in George
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a view to wake up to”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The unit we stayed in had a beautiful view of the beach and ocean. The room/linen looked clean. The towels in the bathroom can do with replacement as they look like they have reached end of live. Room had a small fridge and kettle with coffee and tea.

Room Tip: Room 6 and 7 have a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Fantastic view out over the ocean and Herolds Bay. Very nice and clean cottages with possibility to sit outside facing the sea. Was a bit dissapointed at first when I discovered that the breakfast was not included in the price and the room rate was in the upper region from the start (if you compare to other places with the same standard). Very close to the Oubaai Golf course and Hyatt hotel.

One of the women behind the desk was a little arrogant, I think.

On the whole, a nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

To begin with...the chalets are not self catering. There is only a mini fridge provided. Some of the chalets offer gorgeous views of the beach. However, there are three units on the end that have obstructed views of the beach due to a pink mansion that has been built directly in front of the units (see the attached photo). Getting to and from the beach is a trek, as it is about 1km on a steep and windy road down to the beach. Our room could have used some work, as there wer serveral appliances that weren't working and the bathroom was showing its age (see photos).The customer service for the hotel is a disaster. We were emailed the morning of our stay by someone from the hotel, asking us when we would be arriving. We emailed back letting her know we would be there a little early, around 11:30am, if that was okay. She emailed us back saying that was perfectly fine. When we arrived to Duttons Cove, we were rudely "greeted" by a wait staff to the restaurant, who snidely let us know that we were too early to check in. Of course, he did not know what he was talking about and the person in charge of the hotel kindly showed us to our room. Throughout the course of our stay, whenever we wanted to get in touch with the hotel staff, we had to go through the rude restaurant staff first. These staff made it clear that they did not want to help out. I would not stay here again, as there are several other options that had better location, views, and service. I will say that the gardening was top notch.

Room Tip: Do no choose room 3...there is no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

A stay at Duttons cove is like a welcome break from daily life. Each room has a ocean view with well maintained decors for rooms. The looks are traditional keys which gives a perfect look of the Hobbit village with lush green plants all around you. Affordable prices, great view and a nice restaurant makes it a perfect weekend getaway stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capetown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

we decided to stay at Duttons Cove during a family trip down to the garden route. wow, what a view over the beautiful Herolds Bay coastline. Rooms were very comfortable and clean, ideal for the family. the beach was a short drive. The restaurant served good quality family friendly food, something we found quite difficult to find along the \garden route. Restaurants either got it right or more often than not terribly wrong. Service was excellent. so great weather, good comfortable rooms, good rest and excellent service made it one of the highlights of our trip.
many thanks to the management and staff

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Although we didn't actually stay at Dutton's Cove, my partner and I visited the restaurant one Saturday in February for an early lunch. The last time I'd been to DC was about ten or even fifteen years ago for a family buffet lunch which everyone enjoyed, so I thought DC would be a safe bet. The weather was stunning, as was the view (of course!) and the waitress who served us was cheerful and more than accommodating when we discovered that my beer was flat (we later discovered it had expired in January) and made the necessary swap.

My partner ordered a platter and I went for my usual: grilled calamari, thinking it was a safe bet. Well, to not put too fine a point on it, it wasn't. The calamari was haphazardly cut and served - a small portion, and very tough and rubbery and tasteless. I often prepare and cook calamari myself and I feel that restaurants should at least be able to keep up with an amateur cook. After the beer problem I was shy to complain. My partner helped by eating the remainder (he was very, very hungry after a long cycle but reported that his platter was nothing exciting). The food offered at DC seems to be made by a bored, uninterested cook. Instead of being able to recommend DC to friends and family, we simply cannot.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

Stayed here 4 nights during a tour of the Garden Route. We stayed in the Ocean View 1 self-catering apartment which was located in a beach house separated from the main hotel by a few hundred yards. There were 3 double bedrooms, all en suite, a huge lounge and dining area that could cater for eight people, and a fully fitted kitchen. Outside was a huge balcony with excellent views over Herolds Bay. There was also a laundry room in the basement. We paid £85 a night booking direct with the owners. Two of the bedrooms were recently re-decorated and the bathrooms updated, but here and there the place needed a little refurbishment. This apartment provides plenty of space even if eight people were in residence - which would make it even better value for money. If you look at the hotel website, don't be fooled into thinking this is beach-front accommodation. Its a walk down a pretty steep hill to get down there, however, the views and the outside space are good compensation. There is a restaurant in the hotel grounds, but we didn't use it preferring to eat on our own balcony (the beach house being separate from the hotel made that a little impractical anyway) Most of the hotel accommodation is in chalets closer to the beach, which are smaller but cheaper, and all have ocean views. A good base for exploring the Mossel Bay / Oudtshorn / Wilderness area on the Garden Route.

  • Liked — Lots of space and good views
  • Disliked — further away from the beach/town than we expected
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dutton's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutton's Cove

Address: Herolds Bay, Garden Route | Suite 42 PO Box 6590, George 6530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Specialty lodging in George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dutton's Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dutton's Cove to your Saves list