We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George Lodge International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added George Lodge International to your Saves list
George Lodge International
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   86 Davidson Road, George 6529, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 Specialty Lodging in George
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

1. We had no reservation, however when I called the receptionist(Shani) was excellent in explaining to us the rate, the type of room available and she even assisted us with directions as we are not familiar with the area.

2. For summer aircon would be great instead of having a fan in the room, no problem with the fan but aircon is always welcome :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest

This is what we love to hear and thank you for sharing that, I am sorry that we did not have air conditioner's, but we would look into the matter and see how cost effective it would be for us.

We hope that you would visit our Lodge again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    25
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
14
13
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bellville, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I found my stay at your facility very enjoyable. The professionalism and friendliness of staff, cleanlines exceeded expectations. George Lodge International will definitely my choice of accommodation in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you in taking the time to write this review, we are so glad you enjoyed your experience at the George Lodge and we trust that we will see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

excellent service and nice stay, nice breakfast, it's situated at my favourite nice place I have no words, nice people around, excellent service and overall a place to be. I want to relocate there soon

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest

We can just see from your review you had a great time staying at our Lodge and we are so glad we can be part of this great memory you have of us.

Please visit us again in the future, we would love to hear from you.
Kind regards
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I would stay again on my next trip as long as I have a propper shower... room 22 does not have one. please advise if the other rooms have a propper shower and not just a hand held one in the bath? otherwise it was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write the review and informing us of the shower situation, however we would like to point out that we have 11 rooms with showers only and 11 rooms with baths and shower in the bath. To make sure in future you do get one of the rooms with a shower, please indicate this when you make your reservation and we will make sure you get the correct room according to your specifications.

Kind Regards
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I've stayed in many different places in George & George Lodge was by far the best welcome and service orientated accommodation I've had the pleasure to experience. The ladies at reception are brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Wow it makes my heart very proud to hear such positive feedback about the Lodge and I will convert this message to my staff. Very glad we could make your stay with us a memorable one and surely not the last one.

Kind Regards
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Thanks for the fan! Otherwise my "hot feet" would not have made it :) The location was close to my business meetings and the breakfast was great! All the staff were very friendly except for one grumpy old lady in the breakfast area. But I have stayed there before and am very happy!


  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

it was nice stay the reception people are friendly.. the family room was good with an kitchen but there was no air con as sometimes its hot in there it was just an noisy fan.. the location was also central with an good parking space..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to George Lodge International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Lodge International

Address: 86 Davidson Road, George 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Specialty Lodging in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George Lodge International 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lenie Stander and Reinette Marais form the mother-daughter team behind the success and allure of George Lodge International. With many combined years of experience within the hospitality industry, we appreciate the individual requirements of each guest - and go out of our way to reach and exceed your requirements and needs. Our personal and intimate knowledge of the area, along with our experience in managing wonderful weddings, fabulous functions and successful conferences, allows us to tailor-make your stay. While George Lodge International is a family run establishment and visitors may expect all the comforts of home, our professional team adheres to the highest of standards. This combination ensures that your stay will not only be exactly what you needed and expected, but so much more. We offer a truly value for money experience with 22 en suite rooms, a swimming pool and braai area, cooked breakfasts, packages for tour groups and complimentary WiFi connectivity. Our conference centre also offers wireless access to the Internet with various rooms available that would suit the specific needs of every corporate group - regardless of the size of the group. Our shuttle service offers airport transfers and, with the rest of the Garden Route waiting to be explored, daytrips to all the activities and must-see landmarks in the area. The Garden Route also offers some of South Africa's best golfing and our golfing packages allow you to stay, play and shuttle in comfort and style. We offer a range of fully serviced rooms, with 22 standard-, family- and self catering rooms fitted with all the amenities you would expect from a world class facility. And as our rooms may be rearranged to meet your group's unique needs, you're sure to find your perfect room at George Lodge International. While our rooms are non-smoking by law, smoking is permitted on the balconies of various rooms - please enquire when placing your booking. Ample secure, off street parking is provided and guests may enjoy a great night's sleep, safe in the knowledge that their vehicles are secured behind palisades and electric fencing, while closed circuit television (CCTV) systems keep a watchful eye. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff are looking forward to welcoming you to George Lodge International - remember to ask our receptionist for our Things to Do list, as well as a list of restaurants in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your George Lodge International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Lodge International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.