We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Last Word Constantia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Last Word Constantia to your Saves list
The Last Word Constantia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spanschemat River Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Constantia
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise Found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

What a fantastic place. My family and I stayed there over the weekend of the 18th and 19th November 2012. The quality of the rooms that is, the Elegant and Family rooms were excellent. Everything one would wish to be provided in the rooms was there right down to Kinder chocolates for my grandchildren at night. The complimentary bar in the rooms was was stocked offering a wide choice of drinks. The two bars in the family room surprised us all. Everyone at the hotel couldn't do enough to ensure that our stay was both enjoyable and memorable. The pool area is well kept and surrounded by beautiful gardens. My thanks to everyone at the hotel from the gardeners for keeping the grounds immaculate to the Reservations Manager for providing us with an unbelievable weekend stay. I will definitely be staying there when I next visit Cape Town. Once again, thank you for making our stay so memorable. GSVH

Room Tip: There is no need to add a tip. The only thing travellers need to do is book to stay at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks so much for your extremely kind words and all of us here are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. The garden is one of our hidden secrets at The Last Word Constantia and it really brings smiles to our faces when a guest enjoys it as much as we do. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
66
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Last Word was a wonderful experience. It is off the beaten track making you feel you are on your own little island. The rooms are clean and spacious. The bathroom was a haven. OMG the double shower was incredible! It made it very easy for two people to get ready. The gardens are breathtaking and the service was impeccable! The breakfast room was lovely with a generous assortment of food. Treat yourself I doubt you'd be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed yourself here and we couldn't agree more regarding the shower in your suite, it's so easy to lose track of time in there. We hope to see you again soon.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The staff was very attentive. Everyone was willing to help us with special arrangements or needs. highly recommend! Lovely rooms and atmosphere. I went with two girlfriends and we stayed 3 nights. Evening bed service included creme brulee with our robes. Great view of the lovely courtyard from our patio. Bath products were lovely along with bath pillow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. We pride ourselves on the uniqueness of our very different and very special evening turndowns and we are so happy you enjoyed them. We hope to see you back soon.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was our third stay at the Last Word Constantia. It was as before absolutely perfect in every respect. We were given Room 8 which was simply beautiful with a lovely view over the garden and little balcony so we could sit outside. The room was so wonderful that it was hard to get ourselves out to explore Cape Town. The managers, although different ones to our previous visits, as before extremely helpful and friendly. We were thrilled that many of the staff were still there especially Beauty who has now met our whole family. One improvement from before was the breakfast which we thought was more extensive with delicious fresh fruit and wonderful cooked alternatives. It was hard to move off after breakfast. We will most certainly be returning on our next visit to South Africa.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the pool suite, Room 8 and garden rooms and all were fantastic. It does not really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thanks so much for the compliments and we are all so happy you enjoyed your room, the service and our famous breakfast, amongst other things. It will be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back to The Last Word for the forth time on your next visit to South Africa.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in The Last Word Constantia over a weekend. The location is very nice and the Hotel has a very intimate feel to it. Our room was spacious and nicely decorated. I have slept on more comfortable beds than they had in the room, but it was not uncomfortable. The bathroom was very big and had a huge bath to relax in. The service was not the friendliest we experienced staying at other hotels, but everything that needed to be done was done. We enjoyed the complimentary mini-bar and creme brulee/chocolate cake we received as bed time snacks. Our car was also washed on the Saturday morning before we left to go to town. Overall this hotel was very comfortable and relaxing, but not the best hotel we've stayed in.

Room Tip: Choose a suite - it has a private plunge pool, lounge and complimentary mini bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thanks very much for the review and the constructive advice. I am very sorry to hear you experienced some unfriendly service and I can assure you this is not the norm at The Last Word. We pride ourselves on our hospitality here and I will personally take this issue up with the staff and make sure that this does not happen again. Once again, my sincerest apologies, and I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hopefully we can welcome you back one day and exceed the level of service you expect.
Kind regards
Steve Robertson, marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After a very long journey from New York to Cape Town - we were driven to the Last Word - and it was a gem to behold. It was our 30th wedding anniversary day. As tired as we were we walked into the most beautiful and luxurious suite. The hotel staff took very good care of us and always had the best recommendations for hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for the great review and for trusting us to look after you for such a special anniversary. We're so happy you enjoyed yourselves and we hope to host you again soon for the next special occasion.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaw, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

A perfect ending to our holiday in the Western Cape, from arrival to departure we received excellent service from every member of the staff.To our delight we were given an upgrade to a luxurious pool suite which was a wonderful surprise. The main pool area and garden provided a tranquil and beautiful place in which to unwind. We ate a delicious dinner there on our first night and enjoyed equally delicious breakfasts each morning. Within easy reach of Cape Town and it's attractions The Last Word has everything you could wish for and more! We would love to be able to reurn one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks so much for your wonderful review and we are extremely glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and managed to relax and unwind. We hope to welcome you back soon.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Last Word Constantia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Constantia

Address: Spanschemat River Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
#4 Family Hotel in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Constantia 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Cape’s oldest and most beautiful wine valley, The Last Word Constantia is close to seven of South Africa’s top wine estates and many internationally celebrated restaurants. Great attention is paid to peace and tranquility. An inviting sunken swimming pool and tanning deck is the focal point of the magnificently manicured garden with rolling lawns, vibrant colours and exquisite mountain views. The lounges, dining area and sun patios all open onto the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Last Word Constantia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Constantia
The Last Word Constantia Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Last Word Constantia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.