We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It really was home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Place Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Summit Place Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Summit Place Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   15 Summit Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Winter Specials
Ranked #3 of 32 Constantia B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“It really was home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We spent 28 nights staying at Summit Place when visiting our daughter and family, who live nearby in Wynberg.
The quality of the accommodation and the wonderful breakfasts that were served in the dining room with glorious mountain views were second to none.
Summit place is set in a very convenient location which is ideal for exploring Cape Town and the suburbs including the Cape peninsula and the Winelands . But on top of this, the friendliness, advice and help given by Tendie and Louisa made for a warm welcome and a wonderful stay. Nothing was too much trouble and our two year old granddaughter Hazel, was also made very welcome . We felt completely at home here and it was a very relaxing and pleasant stay for us.
The staff that cleaned our accommodation daily were lovely as well.
Previously , we have always stayed in hotels, but definitely preferred staying at Summit Place and will hopefully stay there again when we return next year
Thank you
Judy and Bob

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Judy and Bob.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your lengthy stay with us! Thank you for your kind comments. We do hope you will come again. Take Care. Neil, Wendy, Tendi, Lou and the Summiteers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
36
12
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Summit Place is just awesome. It's tranquil and has the best views of Cape Town. It's easy to find and the staff is awesome, always there to help but at the same time giving enough privacy. I love staying there every time that I am in Cape Town because it's so homely. The rooms are big and spacious. I recommend it to any business or leisure traveler. Everything you could possibly need is there that's why it just feels like home. And I love taking pictures and Tendai(staff member) was always there to joyfully click away. Summit Place in one word: Awesome!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Manager at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Nozipho

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such wonderful praise. Tends guarantees professional photography services in the future of course! The Summiteers look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip and again thanks so much for your review. Till next time...... Neil, Wendy, Tends and the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were received like "old friends" & escorted to our beautifully decorated, very well appointed suite. The hospitality was exceptional - friendly without being familiar, professional on every level and any request was enthusiastically & immediately attended to. The majestic home is set in beautifully landscaped gardens, a soft trickling, elegant water-feature is audible from all vantage points, offering peace & tranquillity, prolific bird life and unparalelled views of surrounding mountians. Heated towel rails, fluffy warm bathrobes and chocolates on the pillows exemplify the "attention to detail" ethos. Highly recommended, perfectly situated for both business or pleasure and well worth every minute spent at this little piece of heaven on earth!

Room Tip: All the rooms offer uninterrupted views that are just breathtaking and all appear to be equally well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Deidre. Thank you for your extremely kind words. It was a privilege hosting you both. You know where we are. Please come again and visit us in the beautiful Cape. Neil Wendy, Tendi and the Summiteers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Summit Place Guesthouse is a perfect launch pad for seeing the best of Cape Town. Located in the oldest wine region in the Cape (Constantia) there are beautiful wineries and a great golf course a few minutes around the corner. It is a short drive into the city and the staff were just lovely. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Bruce. Many thanks for the review. We are central indeed! Many folk don't realise that! You know where we are and we look forward to seeing you in Cape Town sooner than later. Go well. Neil, Wendy, Tendi, Lou and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

From the outset everything was very positive. Booking was easy with great rates, when we arrived the owner was on hand to greet us and made us feel very welcome. Beautiful rooms and perfect location with a stunning view of table mountain. Would definitely recommend! A fantastic way to stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Sean. Thank you for your review. We are glad your time with us was great. Please come again! Hopefully next time you will be on Rugby tour! Neil, Wendy, Tendi and Lou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We travelled to Cape Town from Nigeria on a business trip and we stayed at Summit Place Guesthouse. What a great service! It is a place for any traveller to Cape town to sleep because of its serene location and the humane reception accorded us by the duo of Tendi and Louisa. They are very wonderful set of people. When next I come back to Cape town, I will still love to stay here.

Room Tip: Pool side master next to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Joseph. Tendi and Lou really enjoyed hosting you. Now you know where we are we do hope you will come again. Kind regards, Neil for the Summit Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

A great and fantastic team, who were very accommodating and friendly, with great advice on local information. The rooms and faciltiities are great. The location was perfect for an enjoyable visit to Cape Town. Wished we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Ian. Thank you for your kind words. We thoroughly enjoyed having you and your family to stay. Please come again soon. We were glad the Rihanna concert was such a success. Regards, Neil Wendy, Tendi Lou and the Summiteers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Summit Place Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Place Guesthouse

Address: 15 Summit Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Summit Place Guesthouse 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Constantia Valley Wine Route with self-catering and B&B facilities. A quiet spacious villa ideal for business & holiday. Near to: city, airport, Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Gardens & beaches. Close to awesome restaurants,shops, wineries and golf courses. Sunny pool & mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Summit Place Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Cape Town
Cape Town Summit
Summit Place Guesthouse Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Place Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.