We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the customer service that makes the difference.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Place Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Summit Place Guesthouse to your Saves list
Summit Place Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   15 Summit Road | Constantia Valley, Constantia 7806, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 Constantia B&B and Inns
Constantia, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's the customer service that makes the difference.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The management and staff of this elegant Constantia Guesthouse are what sets it apart from other establishments. They go out of their way to make you feel at home in their wonderful property. With views of the Table Mountain National Park across a lovely garden it is an excellent and convenient place to stay when visiting cape Town.

Room Tip: The suites facing the mountain are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, General Manager at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Mike
Thank you for the review. We appreciate it. If ever you feel the need to visit on the other side of the road again. You know where to find us!!!
All the best from the Summiteers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
40
13
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed two nights at Summit Place on our way to visit family. With stunning view of the Mountain from our room you really could not go wrong. Breakfast was lovely and eaten on the amazing Patio beside the pool. Couldn't fault a thing and would definitely stay again as well as recommend a stay to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Bridget. Your comments are well appreciated by all of us at Summit Place. Thank you for visiting us and please come again!
Best regards Louisa, Tendi, Wendy, Neil and the Summiteers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

From the fresh flowers on the breakfast table, to the fluffy white towels in the bathroom, there is attention to detail and comfort. Do not be dismayed by the austere look of the outside when you arrive. Once through the main door you are in a stylish property with a beautiful garden and swimming pool, and stunning views of the side of Table Mountain. The owners and management are friendly and the staff helpful. All the rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. We would stay there again if we returned to Cape Town.
CL from Kandy

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Clare. Thank you for the feedback. Indeed the austere look in the drive way has been a concern. We have planted a lot of flowers and in the coming weeks the creepers we have also planted will give our entrance a whole new look! However the entrance after the drive way is still special and will remain that way! Please do come again. We would love to have you to stay some more. Regards Lou, Tendi, Neil, Wendy and the Summiteers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent three nights at Summit Place Guesthouse and it was just the perfect place to be. The location in Constantia is ideal and makes getting all over Cape Town and surrounding areas very easy. The rooms were lovely and spacious and having ones own kitchenette was a real bonus. Both our rooms looked out over the garden with the mountain as the backdrop - gorgeous views. We all enjoyed the heated swimming pool and were able to stay connected with free wi-fi. The breakfast each morning was set up on the terrace, overlooking the swiming pool with lots of fresh fruits, yogurts, freshly squeezed juices, eggs etc... and super service. I would highly recommend Summit Place and we definitley plan to be back on our next visit to Cape Town.. It simply is the perfect spot!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Dave and Helene.
Thank you for your very kind review. It was great seeing you in Cape Town and now that you know where we are we hope you will come again! Take Care.
Neil, Wendy and the Summit Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Unfortunately we didn't get to spend too much time at Summit Place but the time we did spend there was great. The hospitality was great, the food was superb. Internet is included so we got to work while there. The bathrooms are neat and tidy with all essentials.
Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hi Liza. It was as always good to see you. Sorry this response has taken a while.
The stay was short and I am sure that if you come for longer next time, you will get an opportunity to enjoy relaxing at Summit more properly.
Till next time.
Neil Wendy, Lou, Tendy and the Summiteers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, Overijssel, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were warmly welcomed while staying at Summit Place. Lots of things can go wrong when staying with a group of 10, Yet from breakfast to cleaning to being picked up while lost one day: it was perfectly organized. You definitely need a car while staying here, but all restaurants and shops are closeby. This is a great base for exploring the Cape Town region. Some beautiful wineries can even be explored by bicycle to make the trip complete.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Marinca, Thank you for taking the time to write us an honest response. We are glad that you had a great time here and that we could help make your stay as organised as possible. Well done with your Argus completion. We really hope you will be back some time. Best regards, Neil, Tendi, Wendy and the Summit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Such a beautifully located, secure guest house. Waking up to the awesome mountain views had me in awe every morning.Friendly staff that go out of their way to assist but yet not in your face all the time. From my room it felt like I was in my own chalet in the middle of the bush. The inviting pool, the beautiful garden, I so wish I stayed longer. Whether you travel alone, with family or friends, this surely caters for all. Lots of history behind the area(Constantia), which was amazing to learn. I can highly recommend the Summit Place Guesthouse to anyone wanting to travel to the area. I will SURELY return in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Annah.
Thank you for giving us a review. We value your opinion in guiding our team to deliver great service. It was great to see you again and we hope you will be back. Warm regards

Tendi, Neil, Wendy and the Summit Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summit Place Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Place Guesthouse

Address: 15 Summit Road | Constantia Valley, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Summit Place Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Constantia Valley Wine Route with self-catering and B&B facilities. A quiet spacious villa ideal for business & holiday. Near to: city, airport, Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Gardens & beaches. Close to awesome restaurants,shops, wineries and golf courses. Sunny pool & mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Summit Place Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Cape Town
Cape Town Summit
Summit Place Guesthouse Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Place Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.