We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buitenverwachting

Buitenverwachting
Klein Constantia Road, Constantia 7847, South Africa
+27 21 794 5190
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

After about ten turns along narrow lanes once turning off Klein Constantia Road, in pouring rain, we finally reached the wine tasting at Buitenverwachting. Beautiful grounds and buildings complete with two lovely hostesses; a black lab and a ridgeback named Bella.

Nice selection of wines, nice courtyard with outdoor seating, well-appointed interior.

A great place to meet up with friends after work, try some wines - even grappa - and relax.

Enjoy.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    29
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“2 picnics in a week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

It's always a pleasure spending a few hours under the trees enjoying food & wine at Buitenverwachting, with initially neighbours from the UK & then with the family of a DE & her family.

The food & setting are idyllic & the menu has definitely improved since last year. In particular the coffee from the deli is very good indeed. For those who fancy a beer a couple of excellent local craft beer are available & they do cater for those who have a gluten free diet.

We've been dining at this very special place regularly for over 10 years & are delighted that it just gets better

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Gone downhill in my opinion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We have been to Buitenverwachting for years and although it has never reached the heights of our favourite, La Colombe, the food has always been excellent, particularly when enjoyed with a glass of their gorgeous Christine. However it has always been a little Germanic for our taste, very efficient and good but lacking in passion. So even nearing that in mind we found it wasn't so good on this visit everything seemed a little inferior to our previous visits even the chocolate dessert wasn't quite what it used to be. And nothing with our coffee when they used to totally overdo it (never a bad thing!). Feels like the accountants have been in and they are trying to maximise the return. Would we return? Yes, hoping to have our faith restored and it is only round the corner from our house after all. However certainly less than before at best and at worst.....?

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Evening Meal Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Fabulous dining experience, especially the 4/5 course set meal with selected wines. The ambiance created and experienced was great and watching the sunset was awsome.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“A picnic under the trees here is one if the best ways to spend a few hours in Constantia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

5 of us met here for a picnic lunch. I have been wine tasting here before but never had the picnic. We sat under the trees on a beautiful late summer's day, looking over to Table Mountain. The food was excellent and large portions. We had a couple of bottles of Sauvignon Blanc to accompany our food, but all their wines are good and they sell them at cellar prices. You also get a coffee voucher for coffee from their deli. It was a wonderful afternoon, with children playing on the lawns, the dogs walking round and the very fat chickens. A good choice for a casual lunch on a sunny day and very reasonable at 135R per person

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buitenverwachting also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Buitenverwachting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buitenverwachting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.