We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buitenverwachting

Buitenverwachting
Klein Constantia Road, Constantia 7847, South Africa
+27 21 794 5190
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Attractions in Constantia
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Manchester, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We went here for an afternoon bottle of wine and lunch and whilst there is no denying it is lovely, I think we were expecting something a bit grander, certainly view-wise.
We were told that Constantia Uitsig is the better one but that was shut due to baboons coming down off the mountains.
It's definitely worth a visit as it is a great afternoon out, but just lacked a certain something to make it truly special.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    23
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Excellent wine in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Buitenverwachting is situated on the hillside in a beautiful location. The approach through the vines is spectacular.

The tasting room is always cool & never crowded. The staff are friendly & very generous with their free tastings of the excellent selection of wines.

Afterwards, treat yourself to a picnic. Remember to make a reservation beforehand.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeshaupt, Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Estate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Excellent wines, perfect food, very pleasant atmosphere, superb service. By far the best experiences (with repeats) of our trip.

Reservation in advance necessary, prefer window seating.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury UK
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lovely Winery - Setting perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We went here for our first wine tasting of three Constantia vineyards. Buitenverwachting is a great location with beautiful views, gardens, restaurant and wine tasting setup. Wines were very nice but nothing great stood out but nicely presented and served. Very enjoyable wine tasting- highly recommend a visit. We didn't do lunch so can't comment on the food but it did look a lovely spot either for a picnic or restaurant lunch.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome, good wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Doing the Constantia Wine trail, fetched up at Buitenverwatchting and had excellent, free wine tasting, very helpful and informative staff, other facilities, shop, restaurants looked good too

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buitenverwachting also viewed

 
Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to Buitenverwachting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buitenverwachting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.