We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value (for £), with great food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 5 Rooms Restaurant

5 Rooms Restaurant
Alphen Drive | The Alphen Boutique Hotel, Constantia, South Africa
+27 (0) 21 795 6313
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 23 Restaurants in Constantia
Cuisines: Fusion
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great value (for £), with great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel (Steenberg Estate) and was a great evening. The food was fantastic (4*) and at this exchange rate (£1= 15 rand) it's around 1 quarter of what you would expect! Most of the wine is less than £15 a bottle. This is some of the finest dining available in the region and expensive for locals. The atmosphere is of a period house with high ceilings split - as the name suggests - in to 5 beautiful rooms. A must if your in the area!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Public Relations Manager at 5 Rooms Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive feedback.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    16
    12
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great experience and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Good atmosphere and friendly staff. We had 3 courses and they were big portions. Good choice of wine and local bubbly. A great atmosphere on a Sat night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Public Relations Manager at 5 Rooms Restaurant, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We would like to thank you for the great review and the 5 star rating.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Service excellence at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Celebrated daughters graduation in the best style. Wonderful atmosphere, great food and fantastic service. There can be no better venue for a high-class and affordable dinner venue in Constantia

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Public Relations Manager at 5 Rooms Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback and rating.

Hoping to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Slow service with tough food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We waited to be served in dismal lighting with flashlight in hand to read the menu. The waitress was friendly but all was so very slowly. It took us almost four hours to complete a two course meal with coffee. The atmosphere and decor are lovely but the selection of game with their sauces, was tough and not recommendable. There were many managers walking around just glancing at tables. This is our third visit as we enjoy the location and ambience but for food and service they are very lacking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Public Relations Manager at 5 Rooms Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

On behalf of the team and owner I would like to extend a sincere apology for the disappointing experience and assure you that we'll be looking into the issues mentioned.

We would appreciate an opportunity to discuss the matter further and make it up to you if at all possible.

Kindly contact me on monique@kovecollection.co.za. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Winter Special 3 Course, Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Four ladies enjoyed a fantastic meal at 5 Rooms, the decor and atmosphere are unreal and the food follows suit. A well though out menu with good options , three courses for 199R. It could be perfect for a romantic night too. We loved the sirloin. The service was friendly and professional. The wine list although a bit on the pricey hotel side it included all the best there is to offer in the Western Cape.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Public Relations Manager at 5 Rooms Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive feedback.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 5 Rooms Restaurant also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to 5 Rooms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 5 Rooms Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.