We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for 5 Star Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alphen Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Alphen Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alphen Drive, Constantia 7806, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Constantia
1 review
“Great Value for 5 Star Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I recently booked The Culinary Escape package for my wife and I at The Alphen and was pleasantly impressed with the great value we received for the 5 Star dinning and accommodation on offer. The Check-in process was smooth and quick and the front office staff were friendly and helpful. After being showed to our room, we decided to have lunch at La Belle. The service was quick and the meal was fantastic. After a relaxing afternoon enjoying the serenity and peacefulness of the hotel, we made our way to 5Rooms Restaurant for a three course wine pairing dinner which was accompanied by live music from the Rivertones, a local reggae band. The following morning included a hearty breakfast at La Belle.

I would highly recommend the Culinary Escape package to any couple looking for a night away that offers good value and unsurpassed luxury.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for the review.

We are thrilled that you got to experience our 5 star service at The Alphen Boutique Hotel in Constantia. Your wonderful feedback has been shared with our team. We hope to welcome you back soon when next you need a well-deserved break.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
34
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We chose to end our Botswana and Zambia tours in Capetown and were recommended to stay at the Alphen Boutique hotel which is on the edge of the wine lands a few rand taxi drive from Capetown city centre. The location, the beautiful architecture of the hotel itself, the grounds and public areas are exceptional. Our suite was stupendous and of the highest standard and equipped with 2 beautiful bathrooms. We dined in the hotel twice and were attended by Moses probably the best server we have ever experienced. His attentiveness, interest in us and above all his food and wine recommendations were behind reproach. The food was awesome. The South African reds exceptional. We also enjoyed in the outside spaces for both cocktails and breakfast.
This is a special place. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our 5 star Boutique Hotel in Cape Town.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Amazing suites. Our 5 Rooms Restaurant was awarded “The Best Hotel Restaurant” at The World Luxury Awards in 2013 so am pleased that you got to enjoy our 5 star service. We do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to The Alphen Boutique Hotel when next you visit Cape Town.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Set in a majestic valley known for its wines, mink and manure, the Alphen Hotel is a little gem ideal for a romantic getaway or as a base for exploring the Cape Peninsula. The suites are all well-appointed - many with his and hers bathrooms, wonderful towels, robes (that actually fit!) and furnishings. A Lavazza pod coffee machine tops things off. The Alphen is a little gem only because it seems to have shrunk over the years. Gone is the ballroom (now an auctioneers) and the winery (occupied by the office of winemakers, Warwick). It would have merited a 5 star rating but for the absence of a spa and a gym, both of which I believe are to be resurrected in the future.

Meals are served in the cosy 5 Rooms restaurant, complete with fireplace and portraits of previous residents dating back 200 years or more. The food is excellent and the choice is many and varied. The second restaurant La Belle is a combination deli and eatery and is very popular amongst the locals for a hearty breakfast and a la carte meals. I had the best hamburger ever when I ordered room service from this restaurant. Highly recommended!

In all a very pleasing stay, extremely comfortable and we were very professionally looked after. We will be back for more.

Room Tip: The newer block appears to have larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

We have shard your feedback with our team. You are correct with regards to the Spa as we are finalising this facility at the moment and hope to have it open very soon. Thank you for the feedback on our food outlets as we pride ourselves in our 5 star service and offering. We so hope to welcome you back to The Alphen Boutique Hotel when next you visit Cape Town.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

La Belle is a deli/ coffee shop/restaurant at The Alphen Boutique Hotel in Constantia, Cape Town.
An excellent breakfast was enjoyed indoors on a public holiday in June. The restaurant was fully booked inside as it was a cool winter day but patrons also sat outside on the verandah. The breakfast menu was comprehensive and well-priced. The four of us received our meals at the same time and the presentation was excellent and attention to detail appreciated, especially hot plates! The service was excellent and the waitron friendly and obliging. Definitely worth a return visit for either coffee and cake, breakfast or lunch. Booking recommended especially at weekends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you so much for the review.

We have shared your wonderful feedback with our team. We so look forward to welcoming you back to The Alphen Boutique Hotel soon and perhaps you will also try our 5 Rooms Restaurant for dinner. We have some fantastic winter specials on offer.

Warmest regards,
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

From the moment we arrived our every need was met.

The staff are exceptionally efficient and friendly.

The rooms are amazingly decorated and in exceptional condition, it is easy to see how they achieved their 5 star rating.

We ended up cancelling a forthcoming booking with another hotel to come back for a 2nd experience.

Well done to the Alphen team you've created an amazing place to stay.

Until next time ..... We'll definitely be back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Neil,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The Alphen Boutique Hotel has a sister property in Camps Bay, The Marly, so when next in Cape Town, please pop by and experience its 5 star service as well.

We so look forward to welcoming you back to The Alphen Boutique Hotel soon.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

With a beautiful garden decorated with the' scales' of yesteryear used by the wine merchants in Constantias history and the original huge cellar doors of the wine vat storage - I knew I was back in the heart of the Alphen with its typical Dutch touch of elegance. This was always a draw card for my brother on his way home from work in the City. I came to meet with 15 of my close family for breakfast in the Delicatessen. The menu met every taste and palate and the drinks were equally satisfying in their choices. Service was first class and so was the bill!! A truely recommendable venue for any party.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at The Alphen Boutique Hotel.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed our 5 star offering in the Constantia Winelands and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Exceptional in every way! The elegant buildings, warm welcome, vast gardens, the beautifully fitted rooms, the bars and lounges, food quality and high speed wi-fi everywhere, this hotel can compete with any 5 star boutique establishment worldwide. It is out of the city centre (15 min by car) but close to the highway system. Highly recommend it for business or pleasure. Only small criticism was the room bar fridge that was noisy - had to disconnect it at night.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay.

We constantly strive to offer 5 star service at all our establishments within The Kove Collection. We hope to welcome you back to the Constantia Winelands soon. Should you be looking for a beach experience then try our new boutique hotel, The Marly, situated in Camps Bay.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alphen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alphen Boutique Hotel

Address: Alphen Drive, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Constantia
#4 Business Hotel in Constantia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Alphen Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Alphen Boutique Hotel in Constantia is 23 kms from Cape Town International Airport, 15 kms from the City Centre and circa 12 kms from False Bay beaches. In close proximity to major attractions, such as Newlands Rugby Stadium and Cricket Ground and Kennilworth Racecourse, it has a relaxing country feel aire about it. Combining Cape Dutch with the contemporary, a playful twist has been added to this historical 11.5 acre landmark. Offering modern amenities, plush comforts, high-tech facilities and exceptional services, this multi-faceted 5-star destination provides venues for relaxing, socialising, conducting business, dining, wining & celebrating life. Facilities & Features include: 19 Spacious Suites, 3 Independent Restaurants - 5 Rooms Restaurant, la Belle Cafe & Bakery and The Rose Bar - 3 Bars, including The Rose Bar - outdoor bar & terrace, Business Centre, Functions & Events Facilities and Expansive, Landscaped Garden with pool. This property is well suited to wedding functions. 300 Years of Cape Hospitality continues under New Management. Step into a World of Hedonistic Glamour - a little Eccentric, somewhat Bohemian, rather Eclectic & Casually Elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Alphen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alphen Boutique Hotel Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alphen Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.