We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not be faulted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cellars-Hohenort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Cellars-Hohenort to your Saves list
The Cellars-Hohenort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7848, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Constantia
Cornwall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Could not be faulted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

We found the room, the restaurants and the service absolutely perfect. We enjoyed using the tennis court where you can even get professional coaching. The view of Table Mountain is amazing, and a constant reminder that you are in the Cape and nowhere else in the world.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    27
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
86
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

It's misleading to call this a hotel review. We only had lunch, but we toured the gardens at length and also many of the public rooms. I have seldom seen any grounds as beautifully planted and maintained as at Hohenort Hotel. Food, service and setting I can praise from first hand experience. I ordered two things not on the menu without any hesitation from the staff. At current exchange rates (10-1) lunch was a bargain. So even if you do not book a room, be sure to come for a meal. And leave lots of time for the gardens.

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose,ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

We stayed at the cellars for 5 nights. The staff is very friendly escpecially at their Martini Bar where we spent a lot of time. The grounds are beautiful. The hotel needs a bit of remodeling but we really enjoyed the feel of the place. The food is just scrumptous! We spent most of the time eating at the hotel because they just outdid anywhere we ate at outside the hotel.
Say hello to Patrick the house peacock!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

I took my partner to the Cellars Hohenort for 2 nights for his surprise birthday weekend away. Seeing as we stay in Cape Town, it wasn’t a far drive, but you still felt like you were out of the city. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by name and offered home-made herbal tea, which was made out of the hotel’s own gardens that morning. We were shown around the hotel and then taken to our massive suite. The suite was beautiful modern with a completely separate lounge & small dining area, with door leading to massive bedroom with king size bed and another door leading of to the dressing room & bathroom. Both the bedroom and lounge had double doors leading onto our patio, which overlooked the beautiful gardens. The whole suite was done in white, and creams with splashes of pink. Absolutely stunning. When we arrived in the suite our luggage have appeared from nowhere, as we just gave the keys to the porters and they said that they’ll find our car. There was even a bottle of complimentary wine for you to remember your stay with.



The gardens are truly something to behold. 9 Acres of sculpted gardens with various plants in various areas complete with paths, water, ducks and everything needed to complete the layouts. The gardens have won many prizes and you can see why. We had a private wine tasting the evening prior to our dinner, which was held in the Martini Bar and hosted by the sommelier. After the wine tasting we were shown to our dinner table which was in the wine cellar below the Greenhouse Restaurant. The stairs were lit by candles and there were petals all around the table at the bottom. A true romantic experience. The food was absolutely superb and the wine was exquisite. Service was like nothing we have ever experienced. All in all a memorable experience. Even when we asked to have dessert at the fireplace, everything was moved and placed at the fireplace with a smile. Breakfast both mornings are something else with wonderful treats like home-made baked muesli pie (for example). After a short wine-tasting in the Constantia area we had lunch at the Greenhouse, which was exquisite again. We retired to our room and had a short nap prior to our dinner at the Cape Malay Restaurant. Before our dinner, we had to include a Martini from the world famous Martini Bar, which was wonderful, albeit a bit strong. We then went through to the original house which houses the Cape Malay Restaurant. What a complete different experience than in the Greenhouse. All the lounges in around the Cape Malay Restaurant is decorated in the original style overlooking the heated swimming pool. We had a glass of bubbly in the blue lounge prior to our dinner at the restaurant. Dinner at the Cape Malay Restaurant is truly a complete South African experience. The waiters are all Malay waiters and know everything about the food. The food itself is fantastic, and it’s wonderful that you can taste everything for main course. Even Martha Williams, the chef came when we asked for her to tell us something. Wonderful warm atmosphere with exquisite food. When we finished at the restaurant and were truly full, we were advised that a chocolate fondue with all sorts of items will be waiting in our room. What pure bliss. And when we arrived, there it was. We had 1 or 2 nibbles as we were truly too full. The Sunday was my partners birthday, and he was greeted by everyone in the hotel, who wished him a happy birthday, and even prior to our departure, the manager came to him and gave him a small present from the hotel & staff!!!! What service!!!



I must say, and I speak for my partner and me, that we have stayed at other Relais & Cheteaux properties. This hotel however, takes the cake in our travels, as far as service, accommodation, food, luxury and attention to detail is concerned. We had an absolutely wonderful experience, and will recommend this hotel to everyone. And when we can, we WILL be back. I give this hotel 6 out of 5.

  • Liked — The brilliant service
  • Disliked — ....probably the expensive wine list....although it's as thick as a bible
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

It is the fourth and final day of our stay at The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel. My wife and I have been so blessed and refreshed by our time here that I had to write a recommendation before leaving. The gardens with mountains in the background were stunningly beautiful. We enjoyed daily walks along flower laden paths on the hotel grounds. Our room and the entire hotel interior mastered the balance between the elegant and the comfortable and were always immaculately clean. After playfully refreshing cocktails beside the fire place, we dined each night on the most delicious foods in the Cellar’s first class restaurants. The “Egg’s Benedict” ranks among the best breakfasts I’ve ever had, and the “Crispy Duck” made for an extraordinary dinner. But, best of all were the staff. Always pleasantly helpful and quick to service with a smile, the entire staff made one fell so very welcome, as if coming to the Cellars was coming home to old friends and family. When business brings us back to South Africa, we will make every effort to once again add a few days for a refreshing holiday at the Cellars-Hohenort. I would recommend that you do the same.

  • Liked — The service and friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — So thoroughly enjoyable, I've nothing to complain about
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

Stayed with family this year so just went for one of their wonderful lunches and to see the new garden which won a prize at Cape Town Show. Renovations of the Hohenort building mean that the balcony has been repaired and those rooms now look out over the pool and Vinyard. I want one of those for my next visit!

LOVE the Cellars :)

  • Liked — Peaceful gardens and the food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

A beautiful and expansive old estate turned into a luxury hotel, without loosing the old country estate feel. The rooms are differently decorated and located throughout the estate in different buildings, some with balconies looking out to the pool, others to the wine estate, others to the rose garden, etc. The moment you pass the gated entrance, everyone is greeting you by your name , a wonderfully home made ice tea is offered upon check in and you are shown around the property so you can take advantage of everything it has to offer; spa, exersize area, beautiful lounge rooms and the incredibly beautiful, sweeping land with its own vineyard, manicured lawns, formal and infomal gardens and the table mountain as the backdrop. It is only about 20 minutes from downtown Cape Town and the airport, easy to get to (N2, then M3) in one of the most upscale suburbs of Cape Town. The two restaurants the hotel has are well known, we ate at the French one, which we read about. We found that the famous chef has left, but the dinner we had, prepaired by the new chef, was exquisite. And when you consider the $100 price for two for a dinner that included wine and souffle as dessert, it could not have been a more satisfying experience. The manager as well as all the staff made us feel very welcomed and the overall service was truly exceptional-a rarity even in nice facilities nowdays around the world. We just wish we had more time to stay and enjoy everything this hotel has to offer.

  • Liked — The ambiance, location and staff
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cellars-Hohenort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cellars-Hohenort

Address: 93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7848, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Constantia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cellars-Hohenort 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cape Town’s historical Constantia Valley, on the breathtaking slopes of Table Mountain, all the rooms and suites of The Cellars-Hohenort boast panoramic views of the impressive mountain and the beautiful grounds. Set in nearly 9.5 acres of world renowned gardens, this historic and beautiful country escape in the city offers guests far more than just incomparable scenery. A fifteen minute drive will take you to the centre of Cape Town, South Africa’s oldest city, famous for its natural beauty, cuisine and wine. Back at the hotel there are three award-winning dining experiences, including The Greenhouse, where cuisine focuses on regional flavours with modern interpretations. All of this is the result of owner Liz McGrath’s more than twenty years of hard work, love and endless inspiration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Cellars-Hohenort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Hotel Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cellars-Hohenort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.