We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cellars-Hohenort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Cellars-Hohenort to your Saves list
The Cellars-Hohenort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7848, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Constantia
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed in this magnificent hotel for 6 nights which in its entirety was flawless. The setting is magnificent in the quiet area of Constantia. The hotel staff in all quarters were very efficient and friendly. We were having dinner twice in the well reputed Greenhouse and tested both the Wild tasting menu and the Fish tasting menu. There were some parts of the latter which we felt were not conducive with such a high ranking chef and our recommendation would be the Wild tasting menu complimented by excellent local wines.

Room Tip: Room 41 has a large L shaped balcony which is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
I am delighted to hear you so enjoyed your time with us at The Cellars-Hohenort. Thank you for bringing the Fish Tasting Menu to our attention and I would like to assure you that your comment has been discussed with the chef. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    27
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
86
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at the Cellars from 12th January to 19th January 2014. We were not in any way disappointed. The setting is beautiful; the gardens are extensive and very well kept with several ponds with ducks and cute chicks while we were there and two lovely cats. There is a putting green and a small pitching range where golfers can practice their short game. There are two pools and a tennis court. The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient and the atmosphere is pleasantly informal. Our accommodation was excellent; we had a lovely double aspect room with a separate sitting area and the standard of housekeeping was very good. The Hotel has two excellent restaurants, the Conservatory and The Greenhouse which is for fine dining. The quality of the food in The Conservatory was consistently excellent while we were there; we had one meal with friends in The Greenhouse and it was superb. We also considered it was excellent value, undoubtedly assisted by the current exchange rate.
This is a charming country house hotel. We really could not find any fault with it and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel, including both The Conservatory and The Greenhouse Restaurant. So looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We liked the hotel a lot, very reminiscent of an English country house. However, Constantia
seems to have its own micro-climate and we had two days of rain when it was not raining in
Cape Town itself. We had a lovely room and the service was very good. Only criticism was spa which seemed very disorganized and managed to much up my booking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your constructive comments, which we are addressing with the spa. As you experienced, The Cape Peninsula does have various micro-climates and I hope that you were able to find a ray of sunshine on those rainy days. We are pleased, however, to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us.
Best Wishes
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed 4 nights in January. Great relaxing environment with good service. Greenhouse Restaurant was outstanding and is in our experience the best in Cape Town. With the weak rand, it is even better value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for posting this positive review. It is very good to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Cellars-Hohenort, especially the relaxing environment. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Our stay here was truly out of this world. The hotel itself is very beautiful. It is vey clean & well organised. The staff are amazing. So helpful & friendly.

The greenhouse restaurant is one of the best that I have ever eaten in. Outstanding food, decor & staff. The price was ridiculous. We couldn't believe how reasonable it was.

The location is perfect for visiting places in & around Cape Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old building above the Greenhouse restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
We are delighted to hear you so enjoyed your stay with us, especially your meal in The Greenhouse Restaurant. Looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful settings and a quite place in Constancia. The place got charm and the employees are service minded, happy and extremely nice. You will feel like coming back to a place you have been to before, even if it your first visit. The Greenhouse restaurant is world class in all respects and worth the money. It was, for us a perfect location to explore the Constancia area, the golf courses nearby and only a 15 minutes car ride to Cape Town city centre.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found us to be well positioned within Cape Town. Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Warm Regards
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is a most delightful friendly hotel situated within beautiful gardens. The accommodation is of a very high standard and one feels like a guest in a country house. It is conveniently located for Kirstenbosch Gardens and is a short drive to Cape Town and the airport. The staff are particularly helpful and do everything to make one at ease. There are two restaurants - the Greenhouse for fine dining and the conservatory for a delightful a la carte menu. The is also the opportunity for a Cape Malay cooking experience which my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed. Everything is done in a discrete way to make one feel at home and it is a place where we would be delighted to return to should the chance arise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. It is wonderful to hear that you felt so at home and enjoyed all of our dining experiences. Looking forward to your return visit.

Best wishes for the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cellars-Hohenort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cellars-Hohenort

Address: 93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7848, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Constantia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cellars-Hohenort 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cape Town’s historical Constantia Valley, on the breathtaking slopes of Table Mountain, all the rooms and suites of The Cellars-Hohenort boast panoramic views of the impressive mountain and the beautiful grounds. Set in nearly 9.5 acres of world renowned gardens, this historic and beautiful country escape in the city offers guests far more than just incomparable scenery. A fifteen minute drive will take you to the centre of Cape Town, South Africa’s oldest city, famous for its natural beauty, cuisine and wine. Back at the hotel there are three award-winning dining experiences, including The Greenhouse, where cuisine focuses on regional flavours with modern interpretations. All of this is the result of owner Liz McGrath’s more than twenty years of hard work, love and endless inspiration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Cellars-Hohenort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Hotel Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cellars-Hohenort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.