We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cellars-Hohenort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Cellars-Hohenort to your Saves list
The Cellars-Hohenort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7848, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have just spent a week at the Cellars- Hohenort and found it to be an excellent experience. The staff were cherry, friendly and courteous, the setting is absolutely wonderful and the boutique style accommodation is warm and welcoming, and not at all tacky as many hotels can be. The food was absolutely sumptuous whichever restaurant ate in and at whatever time of day. I would highly recommend the Cellars-Honehort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for posting this wonderful review. We are delighted that you chose The Cellars-Hohenort for your recent stay in Constantia and that you enjoyed all that our property has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Cape Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    32
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
24
103
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just a note to say that it has taken me 4 contacts (web site contact us form, 3 phone calls to reservations) with the hotel in five days to 1) book a room for this week-end and 2) get a retaurant booked for my husband's Birthday. Either no response at all (web site contact) or they tell me they will call me back....and then South-African style...you never get a call back.

Hope the service once you get a booking is better than the pre-sales. It is just exhausting. And I still don't know if I have a booking this evening. So i guess i must go elsewhere. Pity.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. I have addressed your issue with my team to ensure that this never happens again.

I am, however, delighted that we were able to assist with your reservation on Saturday in The Greenhouse and I hope you and your husband had a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I am the kind of person who prefers an intimate boutique hotel to a big glitzy one. Cellars- Hohenort, which is tucked away in the Constantia Valley, was just my ticket. This mellow Relais & Chateaux property oozes with charm and subtle elegance.

Except for the sound of birds, it is quiet on the inlaid brick paths that twist and turn around the property. They meander passed a rose garden, a cook’s garden, stately old trees and lush greenery.

All of the rooms, each different, have a lovely view of the landscaping, the mountains and the landscaping. My spacious accommodation had a huge bathroom. After my shower, it felt so good to step out onto a heated floor and wrap myself in a large heated towel.

The inn has two restaurants - the Greenhouse, which is considered the best in South Africa, and the Conservatory. Both overlook the gardens. Unfortunately, the Greenhouse was closed on the night we were there. But, The Conservatory was wonderful. Their Caesar salad, with its subtle dressing, lots of bacon and crunchy croutons was probably the best Caesar I have ever tasted. My slow-roasted duck was succulent and delicious. And, my chocoholic husband had his cravings satisfied with the decadent three chocolate dessert.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. I am delighted you so enjoyed your stay with us, especially the peaceful setting of our property and your experience in The Conservatory Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Staff were sweet. Beautiful grounds. Spa excellent. Room dull, small. Wifi not working. DVD player not working. Room service menu small and food terrible. Felt like the only person in the hotel which was a bad thing. No attention to detail. Charged for water with breakfast. No breakfast buffet. Checked out early. Furnishings tasteless and dull. Not good for solo travelling. Certainly not 5 star quality. They did deduct the one room service item I ordered in an attempt to placate me which was appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us but we value your comments and they are all being addressed. It is unfortunate that you were with us at such a quiet time of year and experienced a fierce Cape storm but I am pleased to hear that you did enjoy our spa and beautiful gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

On Women's Day we made a last minute booking for afternoon tea. Upon arrival we were met by the Maitre De and even though I mentioned us having a booking she didn't really check the details and took us through. A gorgeous setting and just what we needed. Our order of beverages was taken and we indicated we wanted to have a stand of the tea offerings. This was acknowledged and after finishing our beverages there was still no sign of the treats or communication around it. I kind of figured what had happened. The unexpected walk-ins consumed the staff and communication took a dive. I went to the front area and informed the lady there who was the one I initially saw at the front desk who gave us a hearty welcome into the building. She listened well and took charge! I loved her sense of immediately wanting to rectify this and got straight onto following through,apologising and then communicating feedback and delivering the treats. A great recovery. Both the sweet and savoury bits were delicious and then we ended off the gorgeous afternoon with a stroll through the beautiful gardens.
Definately worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback. Despite the initial delay, it is very good to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon and high tea with us. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

After 4 days we realize we need about three or four weeks to do everything we would like in Cape Town. This hotel is perfectly located for access to all the little beach communities along False Bay. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, although we visited during the off-season and the hotel was not at all full. The gardens would be lovely to see in bloom but still enchanting in the early spring. Definitely one of the best hotel experiences we have had anywhere in the world. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Cape Town and The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future, when the gardens are in full bloom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I was lucky enough to spend a night in this unique Relais Chateux property not so far from Cape Town. The room overlooked the garden and was uniquely designed. Some rooms have access to the swimming pool. The whole complex is an oasis of green and serenity and just perfect for a total unwind. It is a pity we were there only for one night. The dinner was grand and although a touch expensive, I can say worth it. Ther are 3 options for dining around and te collection of wines in this wine growing region of South Africa is extensive and exquisite. For sure a stay would be uplifting! Unfortunately an early departure meant that we could not have our breakfast.

Room Tip: all unique rooms with their own individuality
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the tranquil setting of our property. I hope to be able to welcome you back for a longer stay - and breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cellars-Hohenort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cellars-Hohenort

Address: 93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7848, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#3 Business Hotel in Constantia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cellars-Hohenort 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cape Town’s historical Constantia Valley, on the breathtaking slopes of Table Mountain, all the rooms and suites of The Cellars-Hohenort boast panoramic views of the impressive mountain and the beautiful grounds. Set in nearly 9.5 acres of world renowned gardens, this historic and beautiful country escape in the city offers guests far more than just incomparable scenery. A fifteen minute drive will take you to the centre of Cape Town, South Africa’s oldest city, famous for its natural beauty, cuisine and wine. Back at the hotel there are three award-winning dining experiences, including The Greenhouse, where cuisine focuses on regional flavours with modern interpretations. All of this is the result of owner Liz McGrath’s more than twenty years of hard work, love and endless inspiration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Cellars-Hohenort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Hotel Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cellars-Hohenort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.