We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence and modernity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tasha's

Tasha's
Constantia Shopping Mall, Constantia, South Africa
27217941888
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 29 Restaurants in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Excellence and modernity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

It is really refreshing to see a modern restaurant done well, and seeing how busy it gets from first thing in the morning, this is obviously much appreciated by lots of locals. It is a great bakery come bistro with excellent salads and a range of dishes from French Savoyard potatoes to Mexican quesadillas something for just about everyone. At breakfast try the banana porridge and of course excellent coffee. As noted elsewhere, they charge for this, but it is definitely worth it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    37
    16
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Busy, bustling and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Liked : quick service, superb burger, healthy fruit juices
Disliked : Too many tables, too close together - a little more privacy would be welcome

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“pricey but nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Well, this is new

Tasha's boasts a massive menu selection, the hardest part was finding something i liked.
finally agreed on the goats cheese and pear salad
It did take long for the service and was a bit disappointed to see the pear used was from a tin, baby spinach leaves were all welted (they were disguised under all the toppings - i just wonder, does the person who make the salad not realize that the dead leaves will be seen?)
Anyway, I ordered, on the waiters suggestion, a Stepp Wies craft beer, i ended up having 2 of them whilst I waited and had my salad. (remember they had to make another one)
the meal was enjoyable the next time round, but i personally think they need fresh pear and not tinned ones.. (especially at almost R100 for a salad)
the setting reminds me of a toned down Melissa's - simple decor, nothing special, so the focus should be on the food.. food for thought guys ;)

The bill came and what a shock, R49 for a craft beer!!
its a bit pricey

All in all, a nice time, but not place I would visit on a regular basis.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Trendy lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Not having eaten here for a while I couldn't decide what to order from the extensive menu. Finally I went with the caramalised apple, goats cheese and walnut salad and it was an excellent choice, I polished off every last morsel.

The restaurant is always busy on a Saturday but if you can get a table it's one of the best options at Constantia Village.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Awesome Breakfast Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Went to Tasha's in Constantia for breakfast and was blown away by the healthy and delicious options. I recommend getting there early though as it was very busy when we arrived at 10:30am on a Sunday.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasha's also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to Tasha's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tasha's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.