We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing this time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Sixteen82

Bistro Sixteen82
10802 Steenberg Estate, Tokai Road | Steenberg Hotel, Constantia, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 23 Restaurants in Constantia
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Steenberg has raised the bar with an innovative new Bistro-style cellar door restaurant and wine tasting venue unlike any other in the Constantia Valley. Named BistroSixteen82 after the year in which Steenberg was first established, the interactive wine and food destination has seen an overwhelming amount of local and foreign guests, since its opening in November 2009. With an ambience that embodies opulent chic, BistroSixteen82 seamlessly complements Steenberg's popular fine dining restaurant, Catharina's.Intrepid chef and bistro dining specialist Brad Ball, of the River Café and Olympia Café fame, lends his gastronomic savvy to the 70-seater Bistro Sixteen82. A unique Raw Bar features counter seating and interesting, healthy and delicious raw cuisine such as sashimi, gravadlax, ceviche, carpaccios, oysters and tartars, where dishes are freshly prepared on order by designated Chefs.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I love Sixteen82 and went several times last year, so was looking forward to my return. The menu has changed but all still looked very good even though my favourite dish - beef tataki - was no longer there. The setting is beautiful as ever. My starter of tuna tartare was delicious but really small and my main of linefish (yellowtail) was a bit overcooked. The steaks weren't served hot enough and my husband's pasta was also lukewarm/bordering on cold. The steak tartare was lovely but again, tiny with the pork belly special probably the best dish. I was disappointed because every meal I've previously had at Sixteen82 has been spectacular or bordering on it. It still wasn't bad, but didn't stand up by comparison.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    34
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Wine tasting with some starters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I was visiting Steenberg Winery as part of a recommendation of places to do a tasting, and let me tell you the wine was excellent. I decided that while enjoying a glass that I wold have a starter at the restaurant attached to the tasting room. I can't do a full review on the food or service since I just had one item and was sitting at the bar. But from what I saw, I would go back to try a full coursed meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great location, well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We visited last year in January and it was so good we went back this trip. Great location in a well designed space. Very nice interior design and with seating inside and out you have good options.
Food simple but very well presented and a great wine selection.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A very special place in the Cape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

What a find, and not the normal million mile drive from Cape Town to sample the delights of great food on a wine estate. The food is really good, the wine exceptional and the setting sublime. The perfect setting for a restaurant. We ate outside, the staff are very attentive and friendly, Sean McGuigan made us feel very relaxed and at home. Good service, great food and wine and a wonderful lunch time experience

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“World class location - some strange menu options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Surrounded by vineyards, overlooked by mountains and enveloped by water features & a calming decor, one would be forgiven for believing one was in some distant exotic land.
While the quality of the food is superb, if you visit for breakfast, be aware that their 'bacon' actually means 'pork belly' and a good chunk of the stuff! Not for the faint of heart when faced with delicate flavours of eggs Benedict only then having to deal with a too-fatty strip of pork- belly, which, despite all efforts, cannot be accepted as the 'crispy bacon' requested!
Service is usually excellent, but the staff should alert unwary breakfasters as to the local definition of 'bacon'!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Sixteen82 also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to Bistro Sixteen82? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Sixteen82, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.