We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always TOP!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buitenverwachting Restaurant

Buitenverwachting Restaurant
Klein Constantia Road | Constantia, Constantia 7847, South Africa
+27 (0)21 794 3522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 21 restaurants in Constantia
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always TOP!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our favorite in Cape Region!

We visit this restaurant each time, when we're in Cape Town and we're never disappointed.

GREAT food - perfect service and very nice location.

A must if you're looking for a great dinner location.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    142
    45
    14
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good setting, disappointing experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We have eaten here in the evening on two previous occasions and never had a problem but this time the waiting period from the kitchen was unacceptable. We had a table for 8, seated next to the tasting area and surprisingly there was smoking allowed nearby. We placed our order for mains and selected 2 different white wines. Shortly thereafter a taster from the kitchen was served and enjoyed by all. After a short while a palate cleanser was served which we found strange as it should be served between courses. Then another waiter came and just started topping up the wines without ascertaining individual preference. Then a very long wait ensued till we got our order served, 90 minutes from placing the order. This was appeased in the meantime by a complimentary glass of their sparkling wine. Mains came in 2 prices, R135 and R210, the latter of a high standard and the former average. After mains, dessert and coffee orders were taken and the coffees arrived shortly thereafter. Another 20 minutes later the desserts arrived and were rejected as our patience had run out and the coffees had long since been finished. At no point did the chef or manager come out to apologise. While our waiter provided good service, the eating experience was unsatisfactory and therefore I cannot recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Great venue good quality and well prepared food. Pity about delay in the kitchen it took our table 14 4 hours to Finnish. The chef needs a good speaking to.

    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A wonderful setting in Constantia, the venue is surrounded by vines and the outdoor seating is extremely comfortable in a shaded garden. Parking nearby. All facilities suitable for disabled guests. The revamped open plan wine tasting room and new coffee shop/deli add to the ambiance.
Edgar's food is as good as ever. The caesar salad was divine and the monkfish cooked with couscous plus cherry tomatoes and assorted peppers was delicious. The belly pork also got the thumbs up. The assorted chocolate dessert should not be missed. Share it if you are feeling full!
This season the menu has been reduced in size. Sadly, this means that due to the restricted choice we shall not come so often as we have previously. This is a shame as we love the relaxing atmosphere here. If you come on holiday make sure you book for lunch or dinner, you will not be disappointed if you enjoy fine food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“always a dining treat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Buitenverwachting is a "special" dining experience for us- we save it for those extra special dining occasions and we have never been disappointed yet! although the restaurant often is quiet (and I am not sure why) this isnt all bad since the waiters are keen and attentive and course after course makes its way out of the kitchen on time -each special and unique. If you are a "trendoid" and looking for "vibe" this may NOT be the place for you - but if classic dining and and excellent food experience is on your priority list then Buitenverwachting wont disappoint.
its out in the winelands in the beautiful Constantia area and so the drive out is really special too.....restaurant ambience is classic and not over done.
happy to recommend to Cape Tonians and visitors......

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buitenverwachting Restaurant also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to Buitenverwachting Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buitenverwachting Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.