We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great place for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simon's Restaurant

Simon's Restaurant
Groot Constantia Road | Groot Constantia Wine Farm, Constantia 7800, South Africa
+27 21 794 1143
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 29 Restaurants in Constantia
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the fertile Constantia Valley lies a 300-year old wine estate, Groot Constantia and on it, Simon's restaurant, where we celebrate the riches of the Cape winelands by transforming the freshest ingredients into memorable meals. Revel in the Cape Town summer by dining al fresco on our terrace with panoramic views of the Groot Constantia vineyards. Savour the wines of the valley or enjoy our wide selection of craft beers. As the weather turns, join us inside where we like to light a giant fire on chilly days
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“what a great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Set in a vineyard - just perfect. food wine and service was very good and sitting outside on a beautiful sunny day just made it. Booking is essential

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    47
    29
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a lovely lunch at Simon's inside Groot Constantia. I had their grilled calamari in chili butter, which was a revelation. They also started us with some beautiful, fresh oysters and the price was extremely reasonable.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peasmoldtown
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“idyllic location but a bit ordinary with slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We visited Groot Constantia winery on a warm sunny day, took the tour and tasting, then decided to have lunch as well. Simon's seemed the obvious place, and was able to accommodate our group of 8 immediately. The location was idyllic, and we were all in a great mood, which the winery's own superb Sauvignon Blanc added to. These elements, and the lovely weather, prevailed, but in truth the food was rather uninspired, at least compared with other restaurants in the vicinity, and the service, though scrupulously polite, was very slow. We waited ages for each course, and the final tea never arrived at all, wheres the coffees ordered at the same time came a long time before the desserts and dessert wines they were ordered with. The starters were ok, but the goats cheese and caramelized onion tart was drenched to excess in balsamico. The main course salads, though tasty, contained too much of the salad leaves compared with other ingredients. The fish of the day was very ordinary, whilst the seafood dishes were satisfactory, though it wiould be hard to ruin a plateful of fresh oysters. The desserts were the most pleasing part of the meal, with the creme brulee and 'waldorf' ice-cream sundae recommended. Overall, we were in such fine spirits that we left feeling satisfied, though had we planned to take in four other wine-tastings later in the day our plans would have been ruined by the fact that lunch took up most of the afternoon. Considering the location, the prices were very reasonable, but the service charge added to the bill was not merited. This restaurant should definitely think about employing more staff and including more creative elemnts in its menu, if it wants to compete with other fine establishments in the Constantia valley area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Lovely location, good food, slow service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

The location as part of the Groot Constantia wine estate is great, and there was a nice general atmosphere, although the restaurant wasn't particularly busy.

We enjoyed our main courses and thought these were really good. Desserts were nothing to write home about.

The service, whilst friendly, was at times painfully slow, and our enjoyment was spoiled by the fact that our children's main courses came out a full 10 minutes before ours - which we certainly hadn't requested. They'd therefore finished by the time we started, which somewhat defeated the plan of a family meal!

Overall worth a try, but be prepared for very laid back service.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant on great wine estate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Simon's Restaurant on the Groot Constantia Wine Estate, Cape Town, is a wonderful dining experience. The food is excellent, the setting is superb, and of course the wines to accompany are the best. One should not miss Simon's on any trip to Cape Town. It will be a dining experience you will not forget.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simon's Restaurant also viewed

 
Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to Simon's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simon's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.