We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Town Fish Market

Cape Town Fish Market
Shop 14, Steenberg Village, Reddam Avenue, Cape Town Central, South Africa
021 702 0965
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We returned to the fish market after two & a half years, I have to say reluctantly, as we did not enjoy it on our previous visit. As it was Good Friday & we only eat fish, we decided to give it another go and we really enjoyed it. I dont particularly like the smell of the place, & not wild on the atmosphere either, however, the food is excellent. We went back a second time this trip also & it was equally good. The kingclip is devine. It is reasonably priced & a good family restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    50
    35
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fresh fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

i enjoy the sushi but the seafood curry is another one of my absolute favourites on the menu. very accomodating, let us bring in take-aways for my non fish eating son.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The name says it all...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

As with most restaurants on the waterfront the servece, if a little laid back, is fabulous. The menu is really creative...and if you like squid....how do you like your eggs ? One fish not to be missed is the Kingclip...wow is this a fish ! simply grilled in butter...a little like cod but this is no codpiece ! They even provide doggy bags for those who cant quite mange the huge portions.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not fresh and a wierd smell....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The sushi on the conveyer belt was not fresh - it smelled fishy and it was alll very oily. On top of that it was expensive....and there is always a wierd smell in the restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Very good value family restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

What you see in the picture - that is what you get! This is honest value goodness, the freshest of fish and sea food, well prepared, excellent value. This summer they had specials on Norwegian salmon and we ate twice at Steenberg and once at the V & A branches, and were delighted each time with excellent service, no pretense about the food.

I was astounded at the Capetonians who when they see a bargain cash in on it - on two portions of fried fish and chips for the price of one nite, they pack the place, bringing along their own plonk, and are allowed to order one to eat and one to take away! They also do two for one sushi nites and a calamari nite. No wonder Steenberg is always full with happy contented customers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Town Fish Market also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape Town Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Town Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.