We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is starting to slip :-(” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jakes in the Village

Jakes in the Village
Shop A5, Steenberg Lifestyle Centre, Steenberg Road, Tokai, Cape Town Central, South Africa
021 701 3272
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Asian, Moroccan, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Service is starting to slip :-(”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I live in Tokai (very close) and consider this my "local" - like to take everyone there as the food has ALWAYS been nothing but brilliant.

However, during my recent last three visits (in the past 2 weeks) I really noted that the service was poor - it seems that there are not enough waiters, but personal attention was lacking. I had to wait every time to order drinks, then wait to order food and then wait to ask for your bill.

This is just a heads up from a loyal customer, so please make sure your service go back to its usual standards, otherwise I may just not keep up my frequent visits :-)

Otherwise, no complaints. As I have said - the food is, and always have been, just GREAT!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    32
    7
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
intergoal
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Losing its lustre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Jakes is beginning to look a little tired and standards appear to be slipping. Menu is unimaginative and needs a revamp, the place itself is beginning to look a little down at heel. It's far from a terrible experience but it was much better and it just needs a boost.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
“Jakes on Summerley”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Jakes in the Village has/had an associated restaurant Jakes on Summerley in Kenilworth to which we we were invited as guests on 16 March 2013. Having been assured that we were in for a culinary treat we were extremely disappointed with the lack of choice and quality of the fare. After returning an order of Brazilian Rib Eye as it was so gristly the waitress informed us that she had advised the kitchen staff who acknowledged that it was a bad cut and that by way of compensation a "free" cup of coffee would be provided. What a joke !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Late afternoon meal and drinks is quiet, but food quality is still consistatly good. Will be back again soon with friends. Keep up the good work

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Food good - not great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Food was good but they had lost our reservation and then lost my son's meal order. On the plus side, after they corrected that they did not charge us for his meal and provided a free dessert

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jakes in the Village also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Jakes in the Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jakes in the Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.