We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catharina's The Restaurant at Steenberg

Catharina's The Restaurant at Steenberg
Steenberg Hotel, Steenberg Estate, Steenberg Road, Tokai, Cape Town Central, South Africa
(+27+21) 713 2222
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: African, Continental, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were spoilt at Catharina's! The service was excellent and the food was fantastic but the setting tops it all! If you are looking for a great meal with great wine and a beatiful outlook, you need to come to Catahrina's. This place is special, a honeymooners must!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    51
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape town
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I am in two minds here...strangely loved the place, although the service is slow and the food took forever to reach the table. Food is decent but perhaps a tad overpriced compared to the quality. Also did not appreciate the fact that service was included in the bill.

Still - strangely took a liking to the place and think i will be back for a second chance.

After all, they do have a very nice wine list.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great canapes at Gorgeous - uninspiring options at Catharina's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My sisters, brother-in-law and I went to Catharina's for dinner. The main reason was the champagne bar Gorgeous. We enjoyed Graham Beck MCC and excellent canapes. One sister enjoyed the ostrich tartare so much she ordered it again as a starter at Catharina's. The oysters were also fantastic.

The options in Catharina's, however, were uninspiring. Among the mains, there was very little evidence of creativity. The food was good, but more in a comfort-food dining experience, not a notable fine-dining experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

To paraphrase Graham Beck, and the exquisite Champagne Bar in his honor at the Steenberg Hotel, what a romantic, fun, creative gastronomic experience was ours outside under the hundred year old Oak trees at Catharina's.
The Champagne Bar exceeded all expectations and was single handedly the greatest wine tasting experience we had visiting the South African winelands. Graham Beck's Brut Zero is not just a phenomenal MCC but truly the future of the "Jumping Grape"
The Saldanah Bay oysters were the best we had on our trip and beat any of the Oyster-tasting experiences we have had in the Oyster capital of the USA Apalachicola, Florida.
Go Gorgeous!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOSCOW, RUSSIA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“this is not the place where you have to go on purpose!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

this is not the tip! If you compare with the top restaurants, this bistro! simple but quality food! without special decorations. long service with little bugs! food without the fancy and claims. horrible desserts. great wine list, the service is included in the bill, more than 10%. in general, this is not the place where you have to go on purpose!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catharina's The Restaurant at Steenberg also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Catharina's The Restaurant at Steenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catharina's The Restaurant at Steenberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.