We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy restuarant” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Greens

Greens
Shop 7, High Constantia, Constantia Main Road, Constantia, Cape Town Central, South Africa
021 794 7843
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Cape Town
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Filthy restuarant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I took my staff for a Pizza at Greens yesterday as a motivational treat because Greens makes the most delicious Pizza in the world. However..... as we were seated close to the kitchen and I was waiting to be served after we ordered our drinks and food. I had a look around and registered pure shock! The place is filthy. The glass devider between kitchen and patrons was smeary with oil and splatter. The walls had black fingerprints everywhere, the till was filthy the walls ( on the way to the bathroom had dried liquid steaks running down from the kitchen (this was indoors) and I started to feel sick to my stomach. Even the wooden panel behind the head of the person across from me was filthy. It was too late to cancel my order and make a scene so I called the manager over and drew his attention to some of what I had noticed just to make him aware of it. Well, he was indignant and defensive stating that all these surfaces get cleaned daily. I left him to blabber on as all I wanted to do was make him aware. When we left I noticed with disgust that even the back of the white outside chairs with pitch black. That place need a good wipe over with disinfectant and a little soapy water.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    33
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Eating Out in Constantia”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Had the feel of a typical chain of Italian restaurants where the food was average when compared with the better restaurants in the area. However was good value with friendly service

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“greens constantia, contemporary venue, modern menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyable lunch, great menu covering omelettes to pizzas to seafood, something for everyone. Pleasant surroundings and good service, would recommend!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The best food in Constantia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This has become our second home. Great food, great service by wonderful friendly staff and reasonable prices. The best eggs benny ever, wood fired pizzas are wonderful, Karoo lamb on valentines day the best ever. The managers realize they have a loyal following of satisfied repeat customers. WEll done!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good food but bad service and other issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The location of this restaurant is good and the food was excellent but the service was poor with our main courses forgotten. Apologies were given but waiting over an hour for a pizza and a pasta dish was unacceptable.

There were also a number of "free range" children running around the tables, playing cricket etc whilst their uncaring parents ate their meals. Sadly teh parents had no concern for other diners.

We had been told how good this restauarant was but we will not be returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greens also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Greens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.