We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time Should Still in Mexico” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fat Cactus

The Fat Cactus
47 Durban Road, Mowbray, 7700, Cape Town Central, South Africa
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Cape Town
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Time Should Still in Mexico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

this is one of those out of the movies places. A relic but a real experience. the food is excellent. the place is full with regulars, normally they keep to the pub. The establishment has a great vibe of a neighborhood hang out

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    39
    18
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Mexican Surprise!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stopped here after arriving late at hostel with my friend. We were greeted by friendly staff and quick waiters, who took our orders and the food was in front of us in no time. The mango frozen drinks are to die for!!! The food was good and we left happy!!! Only draw back is the outside is still a smoking area, not use to this were I'm from but easily corrected if you sit inside!!! Please go and try this place out, you won't be disappointed!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We had tried to book at another Mexican restaurant but could not get a booking, so this was our second option. Well thank goodness we can here. There was an amazing vibe and the restaurant was chock a block. The stars of the show were the calamari starter, which was phenomenal and the chillie poppers that were a real treat. We had a delightful evening and left with a promise to be back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Walking into this place you knew this was going to be great or a bomb. We sat outside with the smokers on a Thursday afternoon for beer and lunch with friends.
We ordered beers from the bar because our server had not come to the table and kicked back for a nice afternoon. The food is presented well but you should know that if your an American looking for authentic Mexican food than this is going to be hit and miss depending on what you order from the menu. All in all the food is presented well and tastes good.
Service is spotty and needs some improvement but most of South Africa needs improvement in this area and may be why many companies have a hard time staying in business in this country.
Worth a try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yum! Best Nachos in Cape Town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

What a vibe! Such a great place for food and drinks. They make the best nachos around. Looooove their mixed margarita jugs. Yuuummmm!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Cactus also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Fat Cactus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fat Cactus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.