We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious sushi!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Willoughby & Co

Willoughby & Co
Shop 6132 Victoria Warf, Cape Town Central, South Africa
0214186116
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Surrey, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Delicious sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stopped at Willoughby & Co on the way back from our trip to Robben Island and the food was fantastic! Would definitely recommend the Rainbow Nation roll, soft shell crab, and my husband loved the rock shrimp tempura. The location isn't brilliant (it's based inside a mall) and due to its popularity you mau have to queue but the food more than makes up for it! Reasonably priced and great portion sizes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    713
    361
    102
    36
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Best Sushi in town, the veriety is out of this world... everything is just so fresh...
Sometimes its hard to get in but its worth the wait...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Memorable Sushi and good Fresh Fish and Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been eating at Willoughby's on a regular basis for several years and have never been disappointed! I have to admit that I have very seldom tried anything other than the sushi, which is just so good that everything else takes second place, at least in my opinion! The do a great job with all the regular sushi favorites, but they do an even better job of producing really unusual sushi combinations such as their 4 x 4 platter consisting of rainbow roll, topped by huge tempura prawns dressed in a delicious Japanese mayo...this dish is the reason I never get to try all the other delicious offerings! My husband regularly tries other options and really enjoyed the Japanese style steak served on a bed of noodles...nice that a dedicated seafood restaurant has good options for carnivores! You do need to arrive early unless you are prepared to queue...and that is why I have rated them 4 instead of 5 stars...they do not take bookings - very difficult if you want to plan a large table. Not much atmosphere as they are in the busy V & A Waterfront shopping mall, but the food makes up for this. Try it...you WILL come back a second time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Awesome Sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The most amazing sushi I have ever had! Try the 4x4. Good service, lovely atmosphere. The oysters were also great. Waitress knew her menu really well and could make recommendations - so ask for advice.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Still the best place for Sushi & Seafood in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Cape Town is a place where you can get fantastic seafood and sushi, but no place is quite as good (for me) as Willoughby. The setting is not great (its in a mall at the V & A waterfront), but the food is definitely worth going there. If you dont go there early, you have to queue for quite a while, and not only tourists visit Willoughby, but also plenty of locals, which is of course a very good sign.

I went to Willoughby twice on my last trip to Cape Town, had fresh oysters and grilled prawns the first time, and sushi the second time, both absolutely excellent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willoughby & Co also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Willoughby & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willoughby & Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.