We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sushi in Cape Town, but a pity about the location...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Willoughby & Co

Willoughby & Co
Shop 6132 Victoria Warf, Cape Town Central, South Africa
0214186116
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Cape Town, but a pity about the location...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Sushi is without a doubt the best that I have had in Cape Town. The Service is average and the wine list is poor.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    713
    360
    102
    36
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow scotland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Top cape restaurant? Come off it !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Maybe it's fine to eat some sushi,for a quick lunch, with shoppers walking on either side, as you eat at cheap tables , in the middle of a mall. We made the fatal mistake of going for dinner, and were shown to a LUNCH COUNTER. I stared gloomily ahead, watching a 'chef' chop lettuce for an hour, tried to ignore the man elbow to elbow with me streaming a movie on his iPad, twisting my neck to talk to my wife, as we sat hip to hip. One course was enough. There is more atmosphere eating in your car than eating dinner at Willoughby's counter.......

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food in a shopping mall!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stopped for one course and a drink at lunchtime.
Seafood and sushi menu - we had seared tuna and salmon rosettes.
Excellent quality of food and small but acceptable portions - just right for lunch.
A lot of bustle as we ate in the centre of the mall with shoppers passing by. Nice atmosphere.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Our firm favourite whilst in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have been going to Willoughbys for more than 10 years every time we come to Cape Town. Top notch food (sushi and seafood/fish) and wine with a good vibe and very reasonably priced. You would never expect it of a place located in the shopping mall at the V&A Waterfront but there are always queues to get a table and one local lady sitting next to me one night told me that she considers it the best place in all of CT. It is a very unassuming place but when we ate there the other night we had Jeremy Thompson for company (the UK Sky News reader) and various Sprinbok cricketers all sitting at the bar just along from us. We cannot get enough of it when we are here!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

if you are a serious foody dont miss this restaurant you cant book and you are eating in a shopping centre but what food and service the sushi cerviche and seafood plattersare just brill so much better than a similar restaurant in the one and only at a fraction of the price

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willoughby & Co also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Willoughby & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willoughby & Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.