We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lola's

Lola's
228 Long Street, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+274230885
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Fusion, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Lola's Cafe has been a long standing institution on Long Street, and it has returned under new management with a gorgeous makeover, new Chefs, and amazing food!Situated at the corner of Long and Buiten Streets in the heart of Cape Town, Lola's is an airy, vibey, beautiful, yet unpretentious venue offering a variety of gourmet meals prepared by inspired Chefs.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unbelievable breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

best breakfast in cape town. friendly service and great atmosphere.

reasonable prices and good coffee, what more could you ask for in a restaurant. The one night a week they are open has a menu that delivers well. Try the pear and gorgonzola salad and the paella.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    41
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent food with a great vibe and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I went for the Paella night last night and was not disappointed. The paella was a little different to what I'm used to but it was still fantastic. The restaurant is cosy with a great vibe and some nice music playing in the background. Our waitress was stunning. She was friendly and we got our food and drinks quickly.

Will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A cozy spot with spectacular food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stopped into Lola's for lunch on a rainy day and liked it so well we stayed for hours.

The location is ideal, on a corner of busy Long Street. And even with the bad weather, there was plenty to see as the world walked past.

The food was gorgeous and tasted just as good. I had the poached pear & Gorgonzola salad as well as the butternut soup which was livened up with lime, ginger and chili.

The staff was very attentive and didn't mind us lingering.

A great spot!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Long time favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I moved to Cape Town almost two years ago. Lola's on Long Street was the very first restaurant we went to. Just happened upon that first Sunday morning when nothing else was open. Been going back there regularly ever since. They have a small menu but the quality of there food is excellent. They always have different cool local art hanging on their walls.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Nice eats abit more sophisticated than the suronds.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

NIce eats, had breakfast twice, corn fritters and the anchovie toast. Good corner location for people watching. My only gripe was the waitstaff were a bit "too cool for school" or I am too old to elicit the right engagement ,either way a smile is free.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola's also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Lola's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lola's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.