We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi and awesome value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beluga

Beluga
The Foundry | Prestwich Street, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27 (0)21 418 2948
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best sushi and awesome value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great sushi joint with great vibe and atmosphere. Definitely try go for the half price deals before 7pm. Book in case it gets busy. We got the Platinum plate and it's perfect for 2 hungry adults. We did also get some dim sum which was very disappointing to the discerning asian palate. It was like mushy dim sum. Amusing oxy moron naming convention of the dim sum as there is a category called 'Har gao' with different flavours of dumplings (chicken, chive, beef) with the clear dumpling wrap, but Har gao in fact means prawn dumpling.

Would have loved a table outside, but they were busy and did not have an outside table prepared for us despite the fact we booked on for outside. It is rather dark inside, but not really a problem as we enjoyed the atmosphere in there still.

There is a parking garage around the corner which offers direct access to the restaurant from the car park, but it charges a hefty fee as we paid 30 rand to park there - but given we had all our luggage in the car, we did feel more comfortable parking it there.

Would recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    363
    261
    107
    55
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Upmarket and great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The sushi is amazing... What makes it even better is that they offer half price sushi, dim sum and cocktails everyday (before 7PM).
The place has a really nice atmosphere.

The only downside is parking as this place gets packed! And there isn't any assigned parking garage. Instead you have to park on the street which could result in long walks and driving up and down until you find a free spot.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“LOVE this Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We ate here on our last night in Cape Town - if we had eaten here on our first, I'm sure we would have been back. It was a Tuesday night in August when other restaurants are pretty empty, and the place filled up while we were there.

They had a winter fixed prixe menu for around $20 per person - the choices were fabulous and the portions very generous. I had the sushi starter and it was so good that my companion had to order some. The atmosphere is lovely and our waiter Milan helped to make our last night in Cape Town memorable! He even prepared a special "Good Bye" treat for us!

I will definitely return to Cape Town, and this restaurant will be top on my list!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“wonderful cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

we recently went through to Beluga for cocktails during their happy hour from 12pm til 7pm.
New favourites are the Toblerone Martini and the blood orange coconut mojito.

Would recommend sitting outside- because the inside restaurant is incredibly dark!
And beluga outside is stunning on a good summer day

For more information and pictures:
http://toomuchloveliness.blogspot.com/2012/07/drinks-at-beluga.html

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I love beluga!
The food is really good.
The interior is plush and the lighting is just perfect.

Their sushi deals are very good value.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beluga also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Beluga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beluga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.