We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Primi

Primi
Shop 7226 | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
0214198750
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Primi food is fresh and fast, comforting and healthy, inspired by Italian tradition but influenced by the cosmopolitan present. Every menu item is cooked from scratch using only the freshest and finest sourced ingredients. Primi is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a great experience for the whole family or kick back and relax for a cocktail with friends.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The service you get at Primi might be one of the best! The waiters are always helpful and make you feel at ease! The food s just divine at great prices! It's not a gastronomic restaurant but it's still exquisite! It has the vibe of a very hype pub at night and serves great cocktails at great prices (especially during happy hour!)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    52
    23
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Always reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

This is not fine dining but its always good dining served by friendly and helpful servers in a delightful space flooded (during the day) with sunlight. We're always pleased with the pizzas, the pastas and the salads and, finally, the good values. We'll be back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Popular Favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I've been to Primi countless times as you get good food at a good price (medium-high). I don't touch their pizzas anymore as I feel they taste too plain (just fresh ingredients and no special secret sauces/spices). I ALWAYS order their pasta as I feel it is their strong point: perfectly cooked, excellent flavours and decently portioned (2 people can share for a light meal).
The urban theme (more contemporary now) is always a nice experience, especially if it's your first time. It is popular for a reason and I highly recommend visiting to try their pasta (other dishes are little pricey in my opinion)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Appalling service and lacklustre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I took my children to Primi at the Waterfront for an early dinner. Service was appalling we waited 20 mins just to be served. They brought the wrong food and what they did bring was of a poor quality. We didnt finish the meal, were charged in full and left with a very bad overall impression. I will not be going back !!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew V, General Manager at Primi, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear LesleySzabo2,

I humbly apologise that your experience with us did not meet your expectation. From the sounds of things we fell terribly short. That is certainly not the sort of service we have built our business on.

You can be assured that we have taken your comments to heart and I thank you for taking the time to give us such invaluable feedback. It pains me that you say you will not be returning, as I know in my heart that your experience was an isolated one.

If you do decide to return, please ask for me, as I would love to meet you and your family and show you what Primi hospitality is all about.

Regards,
Andrew Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great food and good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Primi is always a good choice and I like the way they offer either full or half sized portions of dishes we always have the pollo reco which is a spicy tomato chicken pasta and you get bread as well as garlic and chilli to add to your dishes. Yum!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primi also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Primi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.