We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pigalle Restaurant

Pigalle Restaurant
57A Somerset Road | Greenpoint, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27 (0) 21 421 4848
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Portuguese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Glencairn, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Service, Food (delectable) and Atmosphere were fantastic! Little on the high priced side but well worth it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    90
    29
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Smoke environment, mediocre”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went into this large restaurant and were somewhat bemused by the mix of a 50's live music and posters then rather diappointing 3 gigantic chandeliers which were just too ostentatious. The service was friendly and we were given a table on a higher level. We ordered our food, then to our horror began to smell cigarette smoke. They have a smoking room leading off this section! Not only that but the smokers just freely walked in and could not be bothered to keep the sliding door closed behind them. We pointed this out to the waitress a number of times and each time she ran off to close the doors. however this had no effect whatsoever. The sliding doors did not oprate properly and left gaps on the sides so the smoke continued to filter through into the restauarant. This has to be a stupid arrangement. Isnt it against the law to have a restaurant where cigarette smoke can filter through freely. There were not any tables elsewhere so we moved to one about 2 tables away so we would not get this smoke full on. However it continued to circulate into the atmosphere. The starter of a salad was dull and uninteresting. Our main courses not good at all. We ordered fish which was mediocre. Then called for the bill and were pleased to get out of there. What a waste of an evening. While we were there we did not feel the restaurant was full of local people. They did not look local, nor did they speak the local language of English, Afrikaans, and Xhosa. More Mediterranean in origin.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent food and Entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I hosted a dinner for 7, including 4 who live in CT. All were impressed by the food, ambience and value for money. The best filet steak I have eaten out in years!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“good, and very different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This restaurant is very different to the waterfront and is worth a try for some variety.
Pluses: the seafood is very good and with huge portions; the table settings are spacious; it seemed mostly full of local people, the whole restaurant applauded a local couple who were celebrating their engagement there (it is that sort of nice place); the service was falling over themselves to be helpful, perhaps this was a bit over the top as we were met and greeted by about 4 or 5 people before we sat down!
On the other hand: it is big on having a band plus dancefloor, the band we saw played international disco classics from the 70's such as Abba and Michael Jackson, be aware that's what they do here, several groups of local folks were enjoying it very much; it is an indoor venue with no views of the sea, mountains, etc; pricing is good compared to the UK but you can get similar food for less in Cape Town.
Worth including for some variety if you have several nights in town, ... or if you have brought your dancing shoes!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Our Evening at Pigalle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were really impressed with Pigalle! We had a most charming and helpful waiter named Michael from Zimbabwe. The restaurant staff could'nt be more helpful! Delicious Food, wonderful music and all in all a very enjoyable evening.

PS.
Something out of the ordinary did happen to us there, when we arrived we walked to the back of the restaurant towards the parking garage area, and they have these big glass doors, and the one side was so squeaky clean my husband walked slap bang into it, and hit his face into the glass. I do just think that perhaps that they should have some kind of warning about that because it could happen to a tourist and the restaurant could probably get sued if the wrong person came along. Other than that little mishap, we will certainly visit Pigalle again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pigalle Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Pigalle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pigalle Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.