We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location (unfortunately no airco)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse to your Saves list
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Barkly Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Maastricht, Nederland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location (unfortunately no airco)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here 5 years ago and last January we were back. Still like the place and the location is perfect! I also like the fact that it is a place with only a few rooms, it feels like living in Cape Town in your own house. The view is very nice and the atmosphere of the place is really good, like the fact that you can get drinks that are in the fridge.

The rooms on the top floor are really hot and I would expect that after 5 years to would have airco in those rooms now, this is really a must, it just gets too hot. Because we knew this from 5 years ago we requested a room on the ground floor because we wanted to be sure to have a good night rest but unfortunately we had a room on 1st floor which is directly under the roof.

And I liked it better that they had the jaccuzi on the rooftop terrace 5 years ago, now it is on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Request for a room on the ground floor because of the temperature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear EffenDirk,

We thank you for your review and appreciate your time that you spent to compliment it with your comments.

It is true that our rooms are not equipped with aircons, during our summer the nights are generally not to hot to sleep. During your stay we do had a heat wave were it was in deed unusual hot for Cape Town nights.

The Jacuzzi was moved 2 years ago to the lower terrace as we had to face 3 times a flooding, were the entire Jacuzzi lost the water and over 5000 liter destroyed not only the roof terrace, it went through down all the way to the garage. We regret this as well, as we are well aware of the fact how lovely the spot was!

It was a pleasure hosting you again at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse and we hope to welcome you again to your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards,
Maggie and the entire team of
Sweetest Guesthouses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    3
    7
    4
See reviews for
15
36
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Sweet Ocean Guesthouse is in a nice house and quiet neighbourhood. The interior is stylish and tasteful. However, we stayed in the so called "Seaboard" room situated in the first floor. This room is right behind the kitchen area and in addition very clairaudient (also noise from the second floor coming down like toilet flush, shower, ...). We tried to relax in our room during the day - this was not possible because the employees stayed in the kitchen area and this was as if they would be right in our room accompanied by the common kitchen noise. In the evening, somebody started the whirlpool (located next to our balcony) - it is also very noisy due to an old compressor and you are not able to open the window when it's running without earplugs. The next morning, the kitchen noise started again at 07 am in preparation of the - bye the way very good - breakfast. So overall, if you look for a quiet stay either choose one of the rooms in the second floor or look for another place... In our view, the price for our room was not appropriate.

Room Tip: Don't take the 'Seaboard' room in the first floor as it is right behind the kitchen and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Gil_Nina,

We thank you for our time placing this review as well as to round it up with your personal comments. Every review is valuable to us and we would like to take the chance to reply to your comments.

The Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse was built over 100 years ago and it was in it’s early year’s the police station in Upper Sea Point and we are proud that the original wooden floors still exist and we fully restored them, this mirrors the character of the building and obviously it is not soundproof as in modern terms.
All our housekeeper know, that our guest are still asleep while their preparing the breakfast and all of them are trained to work accordingly and keep the noise down.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and we appreciate your comment. All our staff members putting all their effort, in order that every guest feels taking care of.

We appreciate your valuable time to place this review and and we wish you all the best!

Kind regards,
Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Brook, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is the second time I've stayed at the Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse. I don't stay in the house itself but in one of the small houses that are run by the guest house across the street from the main house. It's very quiet and you share the living room and kitchen with another traveler. I never heard or saw the other person during the stay. Great location on dead end street, parking could be a littler difficult if you come in late. Otherwise a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Phillip B,

1st of all we like to thank you for your continued support over the last years, as you visit us every year in January & February. We thank you as well for your review placed here on Tripadvisor.com which is very valuable for us and future travellers, especially your personal comments.

We are looking forward welcoming you in 2015 and we wish you all the best!

Kind regards,
Maggie for
Sweetest Guesthouses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night on a short trip to Cape Town. Having phoned ahead and been told that there would be someone available for our check in until 21:00 we were a bit disappointed to find no body there at 20:45. Not a major issue in itself but combined with the rather grumpy reception from the staff on the phone it was a bad start.

We stayed in one of the rooms in a house opposite the main building. The room has a sort of boho chic style to it which we would have better appreciated if it wasn't for the persistent fetid odour from the en-suite. Perhaps the addition of a U-bend to the toilet plumbing would be a nice touch? The bed was at least comfy but there was a real lack of attention to detail, a few bulbs didn't work, one of the kitchen light switches was hanging off and the free tea and coffee consisted of a single tea bag and no milk.

Overall a bit of a shame as the hotel is quite spacious and has a reasonable location. Unlikely to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Manager at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
We thank rorcester for his value revue and his personal comments and would like to take the chance to bring some light into the issues which he is pointing out.

It is indeed true that we do have several senior staff member at the Guesthouses from 07H00 till 21H00.
We do have multiple properties in Sea Point and the our senior staff is floating through the properties. Especially during the late Evenings.
Therefor it happened that there was no staff member at the property on time of arrival!
In this particular incident the senior Manager was already on his way and arrived within 2 minutes.

It took us by surprise to read about the grumpy reception staff! The same senior person who checked you in handled as well your enquirer telephonically.

Our interior design reflects the African Earth colors and at Night we dim the Lights it might feel that there is not sufficient lightning, therefore the room can seem to be a bit dark sometimes.
As we check our rooms on a daily bases we are sure that there were not a few light bulbs broken.

We appreciated your comment in regarding the hanging light switch our maintenance Team sorted it out immediately.

We do regret rorcester did not approach us during the Evening or the following Morning regarding his disappointment we are sure we could have find a solution so he could have enjoyed his stay with us.

Therry from
Sweetest Guesthouses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

4 of us (two couples) stayed for 3 Nights. We were unaware at booking but had a separate house on the opposite side of the road with 2 comfortable double rooms with private bathrooms and a spacious shared kitchen & lounge. This was perfect for privacy in our rooms and a great area to socialise.

Location is good if you don't want to be right in the centre of Cape Town, but can easily get bus/taxi cheaply to the centre. Also near a hop on/off tourist bus stop (definitely worth doing!)

Staff were very friendly and let us know what we could do in Cape Town as we arrived, very helpful. Breakfast is excellent!

Room Tip: For 4 people or two couples the houses opposite the main guesthouse are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Oliver K

Thank you so much for your time and effort to place your review as it is valuable for us.
The entire team of Sweet Ocean view is delighted for your feed back.
We appreciate your comments and we hope to accommodate you again during your next stay visit to Cape Town.

Kind Regards,
Blessings for
Sweetest Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late and were received in a warm and friendly manner and served tea in front of a fireplace which was most welcome after an 18 hour flight. The guest house was clean and comfortable,the staff friendly and helpful also an excellent location and very good value we would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Capsen,
We Thank you for your time and effort to place this review as it is very valuable for us. The entire team of Sweet Orange is delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast, that shows us that our staff shows their personal effort daily to satisfy our guest.

Again we appreciate your comments and we hope to accommodate you again during your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards,
Bridget Jack
Reservation Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

It was a great time in Capetown. We stayed 3 nights in the Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse and it was very good. In the evenings they had a nice fire to keep you warm. The breakfast was really good and it's nice to sit with others at the table to share experiences. Capetown is great, it was the start of our honeymoon and we loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Sanne M.

Thank you for your review for the Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, we are continuously striving to provide the best service.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our delightful breakfast and the fire we put on at night for our guests.

Your comment is really valuable to us and we like to thank you again. We hope to welcome you again at one of our Guesthouses!

Kind regards
Olivia for
Sweetest Guesthouses

We thank you again for your comments they are very valuable to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse

Address: 9 Barkly Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse is a gorgeous Cape Town Mansion that was recently entirely renovated to offer the very best in state of the art interior design. Each of the five rooms are individually furnished and include en-suite bathrooms as well as flat-screen TV’s, hairdryers, mini-safes and other essentials.The lounge includes plush leather settees allowing you perfect comfort as you sit back and savour sea and mountain views. From there you can head over onto the 50 square meter roof terrace where you will once again be inspired by the glorious views and warm sunshine as you deck out on the sun loungers.For added relaxing pleasure head downstairs and slip into a bubbling jacuzzi with the majestic Lions Head watching over you. A shower on the roof terrace allows for some refreshment in between your newfound tranquil sunbathing & jacuzzi lifestyle.At Sweetest Guesthouses we offer you a unique experience – one where simplicity, great hospitality and exquisite decor unit ensuing a sense of unforgettable wellbeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse Hotel Sea Point
Sweet Ocean View Hotel
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.