We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome spot very central place to get around.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Barkly Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 101 hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Awesome spot very central place to get around.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Had such an awesome time. Service was good. Rooms were perfect! Awesome and friendly service. The breakfast as amazing! Got to try it. They also have good wine. Did not like the beer. It's a local beer called castle. Rather stock castle light. They have a nice cider savana which is also locally made in South Africa. On a hot day it awesome to have a savana while looking at the awesome sea view the guest house has.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, General Manager at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We say Thank you to Rorycapon for the valuable time the reviewer spend to place this review as well as add personal comments. If you ever have the chance to stay with us again than we are more than happy to put some Castle light or any other Beer you prefer into the Fridge for you.

Kind regards,
Therry for
Sweetest Guesthouses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    22
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
34
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed in April at the Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse and I was really happy to find such a unique Guesthouse to stay in.
I arrived after 9pm and had to call to get in to the Guesthouse but I was not even waiting 5 minutes and a young gentleman the Operations Manager came to check me in immediately.
The following day while I was enjoying the great Breakfast I was given information about where to eat and what to do in Cape Town.
Staff member were all really friendly and helpful.
The room clean and cozy.
Breakfast is a must have best Breakfast ever!
Next time I travel to Cape Town I will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Manager at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We say Thank you to Travelfeet82 for the valuable time the reviewer spend to place this review as well as add personal comments.

Kind regards,
Therry for
Sweetest Guesthouses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We were in the sweet ocean view for four nights. The guesthouse is very comfortable, we liked the fresh looks and the spacious room. There's a lounge area at the first floor with a great view of seapoint and the beach. We also had a very good service and the staff was very helpfull (arranging taxis or make a reservation at a restaurant. Big breakfast, lots to choose from and very tasty. We surely recommend this guesthouse!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We don’t want to miss to Thank RickManonNL for the review and written comments, it is extremely valuable to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Amazing place , warm people, excellent address . Looking forward to coming back again in this great guesthouse . Decorated with very good taste , each room has its own charm and different decoration. Best place to be in Cape Town for 1 , 2 or even more night !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear RoudouP,

We want to say Thank you for spending your valuable time to review our Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse on Tripadvisor, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your review is valuable for us.

Kind regards,
Bridget
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were supposed to stay in the Sweet Orange Guest House but the moment we arrived there they told us they gave us an upgrade to the Sweet Ocean View Guest House. What a great experience! Because we were a family with four they gave us one of the small houses for ourselves. It is really nice to have your own house when you're with a family. We had three bedrooms that we could use, two bathrooms, our own living room and even a kitchen. The breakfast that they served in the morning in the main house was great. A lot of choice and great service. Everything was possible and everyone was more than willing to help us with special wishes. We would like to recommend this guest house to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We say Thank you to Jorien B, for the time you took to review our Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse and the comments you posted they are really valuable for us.

Kind regards,
Evelyn for
Sweetest Guesthouses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My wife and I arrived late in the night at Cape Town Airport. We previously booked an Airport Transfer Shuttle with the hotel, knowing that we would be tired and with no desire to have to look for a taxi in the middle of the night. Everything was arranged for us: what a luxury! As we arrived at the Guesthouse, a friendly gentleman checked us quickly in, understanding that we were very tired from the trip.
Our room was comfortable and neat, the bathroom quite small for our habits, but very clean. The only negative point was that in the morning we could hear the other guests taking breakfast. But what a pleasure to get up and join the breakfast people! We got to know the other guests and, thanks to the talk with them and with the staff member serving us, we planned our day without needing to read a tourist guide.
We had to park our rented car next to the hotel, on the side of the street, since the Guesthouse did not have its own parking space. It was not a problem to find a place; it was more an issue to turn the car in the morning! At the beginning we were also scared that something could happen, but we followed the advices of the staff members, and we never had problems.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Although we had showers after shower when we stayed here, we certainly had a good time at the guesthouse. The warm wood fire, and warm welcome of the staff was breath taking. The breakfast was excellent. And the rooms were very nice decorated, clean and warm. Remind you (some loose remarks): the sea is nearby, but not visible from this place. Parking is free. Laundry and ironing was very well done.
Many thanks! And till we meet again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse

Address: 9 Barkly Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse is a gorgeous Cape Town Mansion that was recently entirely renovated to offer the very best in state of the art interior design. Each of the five rooms are individually furnished and include en-suite bathrooms as well as flat-screen TV’s, hairdryers, mini-safes and other essentials.The lounge includes plush leather settees allowing you perfect comfort as you sit back and savour sea and mountain views. From there you can head over onto the 50 square meter roof terrace where you will once again be inspired by the glorious views and warm sunshine as you deck out on the sun loungers.For added relaxing pleasure head downstairs and slip into a bubbling jacuzzi with the majestic Lions Head watching over you. A shower on the roof terrace allows for some refreshment in between your newfound tranquil sunbathing & jacuzzi lifestyle.At Sweetest Guesthouses we offer you a unique experience – one where simplicity, great hospitality and exquisite decor unit ensuing a sense of unforgettable wellbeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse Hotel Sea Point
Sweet Ocean View Hotel
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.