We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small house with great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Barkly Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 101 hotels in Cape Town Central
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small house with great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My wife and I arrived late in the night at Cape Town Airport. We previously booked an Airport Transfer Shuttle with the hotel, knowing that we would be tired and with no desire to have to look for a taxi in the middle of the night. Everything was arranged for us: what a luxury! As we arrived at the Guesthouse, a friendly gentleman checked us quickly in, understanding that we were very tired from the trip.
Our room was comfortable and neat, the bathroom quite small for our habits, but very clean. The only negative point was that in the morning we could hear the other guests taking breakfast. But what a pleasure to get up and join the breakfast people! We got to know the other guests and, thanks to the talk with them and with the staff member serving us, we planned our day without needing to read a tourist guide.
We had to park our rented car next to the hotel, on the side of the street, since the Guesthouse did not have its own parking space. It was not a problem to find a place; it was more an issue to turn the car in the morning! At the beginning we were also scared that something could happen, but we followed the advices of the staff members, and we never had problems.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    22
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
34
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Although we had showers after shower when we stayed here, we certainly had a good time at the guesthouse. The warm wood fire, and warm welcome of the staff was breath taking. The breakfast was excellent. And the rooms were very nice decorated, clean and warm. Remind you (some loose remarks): the sea is nearby, but not visible from this place. Parking is free. Laundry and ironing was very well done.
Many thanks! And till we meet again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Very private and intimate. Different to what you find at other places.Perfect breakfast, gios lacation, close to beach and restaurants. Been there 3rd time and again very happy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Nice place, though the name is a bit deceiving as there is actually no oceanview.

Rooms very big, very well decorated and comfortable. Bathroom looked very nice though a little more pressure in the shower would make it even better. I had breakfast once and it was delicious.

Only small detail is that the internet nor the tv were working when we stayed in the Victorian House the first night, this was fixed when we moved to a room in the main building.

Overall a nice guesthouse!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The guesthouse is deceiving its customers from what they show on their website,they also have poor administration and hospitality skills ,and they are expensive for what they offer ,we were chucked out of their guesthouse because of their poor administration, fortunately for us it was a blessing in disguise because we manage to secure a better accommodation which was even cheaper than theirs.

I will never recommend that guesthouse to anyone,Cape Town lodge hotel is the best....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Manager at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We would like to thank the reviewer for her open criticism and herewith confirm that her opinion is very important to us. As the managers of the Sweetest Guesthouses, we would like to take the opportunity to answer to her review to bring some light into the situation and as a matter of fact to straighten a few things out.

The reviewer booked a double room at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse for four nights directly with us via our Homepage and her booking was professionally handled by our reservation manageress and the booking was confirmed in writing as the reviewer returned the completed and signed booking forms.

During her stay, she once mentioned she might extend her booking for one further night. We made her aware of the fact that we just had one room available for that particular night and due to the Jazz Festival - one of the biggest and most popular festival in South Africa was held that weekend - we needed an answer as soon as possible. On the day of departure, she decided to stay another night, which unfortunately was not possible anymore. The room was already sold via an online booking machine. We would have loved to accommodate her for a further night; regrettably the rooms were fully booked.

We would like to emphasize that we did not chucked her out as reported by the reviewer. As we already mentioned above, we made her aware of our booking situation right from the beginning. All our departments and staff members handled her booking in a very professional way right from the first contact and therefore, we cannot understand her accusations of poor administration and lacking hospitality skills.

We are happy that the reviewer could still find an accommodation within Cape Town during that busy weekend of the Jazz Festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

My husband and I book a room at Sweet Ocean View Guest House for 5 days. We only stayed 2 things were so bad. When we booked we the web site said they had air conditioning. That meant a fan. The night we arrived it was about 90 degrees in that room. I told the young lady that showed us to our room we were told they had air. She pointed out the fan. It was after midnight so we had to stay. The only way to get air was to open the window, the shutters and the curtains which left us in full view to the street. The only cover on the bed was a heavy comforter not even a top sheet. Who knows how slept under that with no sheet before us as well as it being 90 degrees in the room. We had to search around the guest house opening cupboards and drawers trying to find a sheet. We found 2 fitted twin sheets for covers. The web site said large comfortable rooms. The room was tiny. The web site showed a variety of amenities like loofas and lotions with pretty little artsy folded towels. There was not even hand soap non the less shampoo and loofas. The towels were dirty as well. By 6 am there was no sleeping even if the room cooled off. the room was street level with no curtains and the window open it was too light and noisy to sleep. I went in search of someone to get clean towels, hand soap, and a sheet for the lumpy king bed. There was a young lady that did not speak very good English that was cooking breakfast. We did manage to get soap but that was a good as we got. By not sleeping the second night we had had it. We had been to the main guest house 4 or 5 times trying to find someone to help us out. We finally just packed up and left. The young lady that was cleaning the room asked, where we were going we told her anywhere but there. She called the main office where we were spoken to like we were the village idiots. They were paid for a 5 day stay but we only stayed 2 and the person that showed up to help us check out refused a refund and tried to charge us for breakfast we never had. When we explained our issues she laughed at us and told us what great reviews they had on TripAdvisor. I would have to believe they wrote them all themselves. Stay at the Cascade on the Promenade they know how to treat people right.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
We the Owners of Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse would like to take the opportunity to answer to the review to bring some light into the situation and as a matter of fact to straighten a few things out.
The reviewer booked via Expedia our guesthouse Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, which is part of our privately owned Guesthouse Group called Sweetest Guesthouses. All our guesthouses are listed on all major online booking machines and replying to the 1st point where the reviewer complained is, that we advertise aircon’s at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse. The reviewer may got confused by our different outlet, which all starts with “Sweet”.

In regards to the bedding of our rooms, since years we work successfully with Duvet Inners – not comforters – which are filled with Microfiber 300g and a brushed microfiber casing, covered by a 300 TC pure cotton satin sheen, which turned out to be quite popular among our guest’s and even above the required standards of the South African Tourism Grading Council.

Our rooms do measure 25 to 30 square meters and it might be now relative, if you can call it tiny or not, we would have loved to add a picture of the room where the guest was checked in. At the time of check-in the reviewer mentioned their concerns, unfortunately it was already after midnight on time of arrival, therefore our employee (one of our Students from the international Hotel school Lucerne) assured a solution for the next day. Our Operations Manager (who as well graduated from the well known International Hotel School Lucerne with a degree) was waiting for the guest at breakfast service in order speak to them personally and to accommodate their needs and wishes. Other than expected they did not join us for breakfast, they may joined their friends who stayed at the Protea Hotel Sea Point at Arthurs Rd.
We can not understand the complained about the soap, as we installed fixed soap dispenser in the bathrooms, at each basin and in every shower, which is in our industry filled with a combined 2 in 1 Shampoo.

It looks like, that the reviewer did not carefully read the terms & conditions while they were booking via the online booking machine. Bookings via Expedia/Hotels.com are paid directly on time of booking with Expedia/Hotels.com not with the Hotel! Therefore I (the owner of Sweetest Guesthouses) kindly asked the guest to contact Expedia directly for the refund, which could be only given by Expedia/Hotels.com due of the premature departure.

We deeply regret, that our Operations Manager nor one of his immediate team members never got hold of the guest, we would have loved to accommodate all their needs. The Cascade on the Promenade, which the reviewer is recommending is a 5 Star Boutique Guesthouse with obviously much higher room rates.

Cape Town April, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had three nights at SOGH. We paid for a deluxe room, and got anhuge room with out own backuatd, and a big storageroom and a realy nice bathroom.

We had breakfast one morning at SOGH, and it was a good value, and a good start of the day.

The common rooms down- and upstairs was nice, and had a good feeling.

Internet was at a good speeding considering it is SA.

The staff is helpfull, and gave us some tips about CT that was very useful. As restaurant, places to go, and so on.

Situated very good in Sea Point makes it a good start point to explore CT. We had i car, and found it very good.

I would stay here again if I wanted a budgwt accommodation in CT!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We would like to thank you for reviewing our Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse on TripAdvisor, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your reviews and comments are valuable to us.

Kind Regards

Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse

Address: 9 Barkly Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse is a gorgeous Cape Town Mansion that was recently entirely renovated to offer the very best in state of the art interior design. Each of the five rooms are individually furnished and include en-suite bathrooms as well as flat-screen TV’s, hairdryers, mini-safes and other essentials.The lounge includes plush leather settees allowing you perfect comfort as you sit back and savour sea and mountain views. From there you can head over onto the 50 square meter roof terrace where you will once again be inspired by the glorious views and warm sunshine as you deck out on the sun loungers.For added relaxing pleasure head downstairs and slip into a bubbling jacuzzi with the majestic Lions Head watching over you. A shower on the roof terrace allows for some refreshment in between your newfound tranquil sunbathing & jacuzzi lifestyle.At Sweetest Guesthouses we offer you a unique experience – one where simplicity, great hospitality and exquisite decor unit ensuing a sense of unforgettable wellbeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse Hotel Sea Point
Sweet Ocean View Hotel
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.