We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual dining, good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Perla

La Perla
Beach Road, Sea Point, Cape Town Central, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Casual dining, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I would class La Perla as casual dining rather than fine dining but it is a well located restaurant where we received good service and first clkass food. The menu is varied and good value. There is easy parking very nearby. Overall a good place to eat rather than the hassle of the Waterfront in the evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    82
    100
    62
    39
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

OK, I may be a touch biased having been an irregular visitor to La Perla for 30 years (I live in London) but having revisited a couple of times during a recent trip to Cape Town I still reckon it is very hard to beat. Great food, a busy buzzy atmosphere, ecclectic clientelle and impeccable service from happy waiters, some of whom have been there from its inception 40 odd years ago. But old does not mean that La Perla is stuffy or out of date but rather like a fine wine it has acquired a touch of class that only time can bestow. The highest complement I can pay is that although the food has a distinctly Italian accent it is the Cape Town equivalent of Le Caprice in London or The Lipp in Paris. So many thanks La Perla and see you again soon I hope

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldermaston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Just by chance - but a good find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Looking for somewhere to eat and tired of the V&A waterfront crowds on a Sunday decided to look around and found La Perla. Nicely situated at the western end of town overlooking sea and beach.
Attentive service with a good menu of mostly Italian food. Good quality and nice surroundings - upmarket without too much expense.
A very pleasant experience .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing...!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

La Perla had been recommended to us and we thought to dine there this evening, a Monday evening (18 February 2013). First off, it might have been easier should we have reserved a table. No, we hadn't, okay, no problem. I noted that our request for a table was met almost scornfully by the owner of this restaurant. We were usherd off to an anti-chambre to await our table for two where we were studiously ignored by the waiters. We ordered two glasses of red wine and were charged ZAR 108.00 for the privilege. I must admit the red wine was good, but later I read that by the bottle that particular wine only cost ZAR 185.00
After a wait of about an hour we were brought to a rather cramped table inside the restaurant. We had already suggested we might like to eat outside. After a couple of minutes we were brought to a table on the terrace. Much better!
My partner and I both ordered an anti-pasta and a pasta main course. It must be said that the food was good, almost very good. The service was poor. Disinterested staff dressed in barbers' jackets, tidying up the terrace at 22:00 hrs while many guests were still eating. I really cannot understand why this restaurant is so popular. It would seem that mediocracy rules.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somwest
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Below average”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Bad experience for a Sunday lazy lunch! We were seated outside and waited for our drinks. A cockroach on the table was our first surprise. Secondly the food is very expensive for what you get. We ordered steak which was very disappointing and the salad was also not that fresh. My salad leaves looked old. The freshly baked bread was very nice. Service was average. For such prices you also expect nice wine glasses' not even that. I would never go back to La Perla! View from the deck was good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Perla also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Perla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.