We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better a late review, than never.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Rose Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Rose Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
32 Rose St. Bo'Kaap | Bo'Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Schotsche Kloof)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 147 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Sitges, Spain
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Better a late review, than never.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

A family of four (kids 18 and 22), we stayed at The Rose for 3 nights in late July. Yuan was quick to fit us in when we suddenly altered our dates - backwards - having realised that our original dates would have had us arriving in Cape Town just as the Table Mountain cable car was being shut-down for its 5 weeks of winter maintenance! As it was we went up on the last day (the queues were horrendous ... would be there at 8am next time, at the front of the queue!) in glorious weather. The Rose is a wonderful place, a real boutique hotel; it was refreshing to stay somewhere so individual. I even opened the window in my bathroom after my showers as I was concerned about the steam and condensation spoiling the amazing hand-drawn cartoons on the bathroom wall. The communal breakfast was great as it allowed us to talk to fellow travellers and swap advice as to what to see/ where to go. Our host, Yuan, was at breakfast each day to dispense advice too. Breakfast was all the usuals plus decent coffee (Yuan is French) and fresh, warm muffins. The location of The Rose is good; we either walked places or took short taxis rides, and then on the last morning we collected a hire car from Avis (just around the corner from The Rose) to continue our travels. We will definitely stay with Yuan again when in Cape Town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    54
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
175
64
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

La Rose is such a wonderful B&B, beautifully decorated and perfectly located. The rooms are clean and the service is fantastic. The breakfast is also wonderful. The owners are very welcoming and make you feel right at home. We stayed in the Lilac suite, which was gorgeous. The B&B is in a cool area and is walking distance from Long Street, the Waterfront and many other of the attractions in the city. We loved our stay here and would go back in a heartbeat. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Lilac Suite is beautiful, quiet and just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our first family trip and it was to see The Mother City! La Rose was the most comfortable home away from home! Travelling with kids is always no joke! But Yohann & his wife were the best hosts and made us feel extremely welcome and at ease! They were very knowledgeable, warm and friendly giving us the best activities and places to frequent that were kid friendly!

Breakfast was always a highlight and they came to chat with us and the food is something write home about :) The V & A Waterfront was about 15 minutes away within walking distance! From all the beautiful sites we saw, we would most definately recommend La Rose! We explored Cape Town City on foot and enjoyed the sites! We also made use of the "Red Bus"!

I have been raving about La Rose to all my friends & family since we arrived! We look forward to our stay next year! We have decided to make La Rose B&B our new Cape Town home!

Big Thank you to all from La Rose B&B!!

Regards,
Lynton

Room Tip: If you are travelling with kids, the Lilac Suite is best! There is no noise what so ever! The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at La Rose for 4 night. We chose this place for its location, the Moroccan decor and the affordable price!
And we were not disappointed!
La rose is centrally located i.e around 3-5min walk to Long Street and 25-30 mins walks to the V&A waterfront through Robben Museum.
The Red city tour bus also stops about 5 mins walks from the guesthouse.
the area is pretty safe for walking during the day but do take taxi at night regardless of wherever you stay in Cape town.
Yohann, the guesthouse owner was very helpful and full of good advices on food, tour etc. He also arranged an airport taxi transfer for our arrival to cape town.

We stayed in Rose room which was at the front of the house. It was slightly noisy from the traffic noise in the morning but it was very convenient for getting in and out especially with the luggages!
The room was clean and comfortable with good facilities i.e plenty of hot water, very good shower, safe, TV etc. Tea and coffee making facilities were great and refilled daily but no fridge!
Free Wifi was reliable and was no problem accessing from the room.
The breakfast was simple but plentiful with hot cooked eggs of your choices. We love the yummy freshly homemade muffins!
It was a security guard looking after the place at night.

We love the synergy of Yohann (the guesthouse owner) with his guests over breakfast.
It was such a nice personal touch that one cannot get from the big fancy hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent three nights at La Rose. It was the perfect base for our Cape Town trip. Yohann was very knowledgeable and friendly and gave us good directions. We spent most of our days exploring the city but it was always nice to come back to the bed and breakfast. It is within walking distance (10-15 min) to the V&A Waterfront and to several places to eat, as well as within a couple blocks of a Hop On Hop Off bus stop. I chose La Rose mostly for its location in the colorful Bo' Kaap neighborhood and wasn't disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This place has a lot of positives so I'll start with those:
Very friendly welcome with a lot of good advice of where to eat in particular.
Excellent wifi in rooms, as fast as home.
Lovely breakfast spread with eggs, freshly baked muffins, bread, yoghurt and cereals.
Spotlessly clean.
Good location for greenmarket square and long street.
About 30 mins walks from V&A (do not walk in the dark though) or short hop in taxi.
A security guard who patrols around the front of this and the opposite B&B so you feel safer.
Quite reasonably priced.
There is an associated taxi service you can call to take you anywhere at night when you can't walk around.

Cons - the main reason I could not give it more stars despite the positives was the noise issues from early morning onwards that disturbed my sleep very badly.
At 4am you can hear the call to prayer but I slept again after this however from 7am onwards there is non stop is clatter of getting the breakfast ready followed by the noise of all the people chattering, laughing, their children crying and screaming from 7.30-9.30am. If you are a light sleeper there was no way to sleep through this. I could even hear the content of the conversations from my room. This was a minor irritation most days as I planned to wake up only 45mins after the noise cacophany began anyway but the last day I really wanted a bit of a lie in as had 30 hours of travelling afterwards but this was not possible. I could not wear earplugs as would have risked missing my alarm. If you are an early riser and do not want to lie in past 7am this will not trouble you. I like to relax a bit more on holiday and this was not possible here unfortunately.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The location of this B&B is ideal for walking to everywhere in Cape Town. The staff were all friendly and welcoming and the room we had was nice (the yellow room). The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and was very good. A very good value place to stay in central Cape Town.
My only criticism was that there was some noise in the mornings from people moving around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Rose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rose Bed & Breakfast

Address: 32 Rose St. Bo'Kaap | Bo'Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Rose is an eclectic mix of French, Indian, Cape Malay and African influences, where old world and modern embrace. Each en suite bedroom is unique and stylishly decorated to reflect the colourful Bo-Kaap and South Africa. It is home away from home, designed to cater for tourists as well as business executives and is gay friendly. Centrally located, it is one of the most central areas in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Rose Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rose Bed And Breakfast
La Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
La Rose Bed & Breakfast Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rose Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.