We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Rose Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Rose Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
32 Rose St. Bo'Kaap | Bo'Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Schotsche Kloof)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 147 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location and welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The location of this B&B is ideal for walking to everywhere in Cape Town. The staff were all friendly and welcoming and the room we had was nice (the yellow room). The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and was very good. A very good value place to stay in central Cape Town.
My only criticism was that there was some noise in the mornings from people moving around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    54
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
175
64
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at La Rose for 3 nights at the beginning of our SA trip. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the room was nice. A freshly cooked breakfast every morning in a very pretty courtyard sets you up for the day. The rooftop terrace has a great view of Table Mountain.
The location in Bo Kaap meant that we could walk all over the city without having to rely on public transport or taxis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul, Türkiye
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great couple take care of you whenever you need. They gave us advices about the city also they were very helpful. Friendly atmosphere, clean rooms, great omlettes at breakfast. It is close to the centre and Longstreet's night life.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My friends and I stayed at La Rose for a week and loved every minute of our stay at this brightly coloured warm B&B. In fact, it was a home away from home!

1) Centrally located, within a safe area, it's a 3-5min walk to Long Street, and a 5min drive to the V&A waterfront. The rooms were clean and comfortable, fitted with air conditioning, a safe, TV, tea & coffee making amenities. Towels were provided and changed daily if required.
2) The B&B uses a taxi company called Excite Cabs - worth using them if you aren't driving yourself. A telephone is provided to call them.
3) There is free wifi within the B&B and a laptop with internet access for use by guests (just in case you haven't carried your smart phone!).
4) The breakfast is absolutely delicious! Be sure to try out their freshly baked muffins, bread and fruit salad. A simple yet mouth watering meal to get your day started.

Yoann and his wife (Owners) were always at hand to help out and gave us lots of options for activities in CT and restaurant options based on our eating preferences. If you are a food junkie, you will love CT. Try the 'bunny chow' (special Durban dish) served at the food market near the V&A. I will definitely be back at La Rose for another wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at La Rose for five nights and greatly enjoyed the charming place, the delicious breakfast, the rooftop views and the kind hosts. The location proved to be a good starting point for exploring Cape Town. I walked to the V&A Waterfront, Long Street, Greenmarket Square, the Gardens and more. The Bokaap neighborhood itself had a cool vibe and I enjoyed a few dinners out at various restaurants there and pleasant breaks at nearby cafes. The partnering taxi service was excellent - prompt and reasonably-priced. I can highly recommend La Rose if you are looking for a unique and intimate place where you will be greeted with a smile, can share in good conversation with guests and the lovely owners, and will say goodbye with a hug and an "auf wiedersehen".

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I only stayed one night at La Rose, but it was a huge part of our trip to Cape Town. We had originally booked several nights, but had to change our plans, and Joann went out of his way to try to limit the inconvenience our plan change caused. The B&B is charming, and the room was clean, comfortable, and adorably decorated (as was the B&B as a whole). Joann also helped me book several trips (even when we weren't staying there any longer), and we continued using the taxi company he recommended throughout our stay in Cape Town, as they were the most honest and reliable we found. We slept late on checkout day and thought we missed breakfast, but Joann and his family were still sitting and eating, and insisted that we stay and eat with them as well. The food was absolutely delicious, and his family included us in their conversations, truly making us feel at home. I really wish we could have stayed with them longer, and would definitely book with them again in the future.

On a separate note, we booked a township tour through Joann, and met with Brian, who took us to several locations in a nearby township. Brian was an amazing tour guide, and once again we felt very included and welcomed. The organizations Brian showed us are incredible, and it was really an inspiring experience. I highly recommend anyone interested in visiting a township talk to Joann about it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

La Rose is a gem! In addition to the beautiful brightly colored siding, this b&b is in the perfect area of the Bo'Kaap area. Simply walk out of the front door, down a few blocks and you hit Long street. My husband and I loved walking in and out of the tons of bars and restaurants down this road!

Yohaan, the owner, was super nice and took his time to give us must do's of the capetown area. Our room was little, but very comfortable if your a low maintenance traveler. The house keepers and other staff were so pleasant and kind. One of the best things about La Rose we're the locked gates around the entire little building. Although we found this area to be safe, it was definitely an extra peace of mind. There is even a paid security guard to watch over our block where our rental car was parked! Breakfast is a wonderful experience where you are lucky enough to sit with fellow travelers and stayers at La Rose at the same long table. This was a great experience where my husband and I did not hesitate to chat with travelers from all over the world.

Choose La Rose! You will be happy you did!

Gripes- no fridge or hair dryer, staff goes home at night ( but Yohann was available by cell)
Tips- eat at Fork on Long street. Omg so good. Hike the mountain. It's hard but worth it. Go to Marcos right down the street for (somewhat authentic food, locals say different) we had a great time watching the live music!

Safe travels! Peace!

Room Tip: Pink room was adorable but near the breakfast room. We are early risers but I would assume it'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Rose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rose Bed & Breakfast

Address: 32 Rose St. Bo'Kaap | Bo'Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Rose is an eclectic mix of French, Indian, Cape Malay and African influences, where old world and modern embrace. Each en suite bedroom is unique and stylishly decorated to reflect the colourful Bo-Kaap and South Africa. It is home away from home, designed to cater for tourists as well as business executives and is gay friendly. Centrally located, it is one of the most central areas in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Rose Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rose Bed And Breakfast
La Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
La Rose Bed & Breakfast Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rose Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.