We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B in Bo Kaap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Rose Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Rose Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
32 Rose St. Bo'Kaap | Bo'Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Schotsche Kloof)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #22 of 151 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
1 review
“Excellent B&B in Bo Kaap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Best b&b I've ever been to. Host Yoann is awesome. He's got an angel's patience helping his guests with their sight seeing plans and will happily share his views on the city, the neighborhood, the country, the people, etc over a fantastic breakfast. I had the room next to the breakfast room, but I was always up before the rest of the guests so the noise didn't bother me.The room is modern, comfy, spotless clean. The entire place (gorgeous renovations!) feels more like a boutique hotel than a b&b. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    57
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
181
68
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The bnb is 3 minutes away from the city center. The rooms are simple but cosy, clean and comfortable. The breakfast is fantastic and Yohann is a very friendly guy. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a very good B&B in an ideal location close to (but not in) the center of Cape Town. What really makes it outstanding is the owner, Yoann, who is incredibly welcoming. He sits down with the guests every day at breakfast to provide advice and discuss plans. It feels more like staying with friends than staying at a B&B. As a solo traveller, I'd say I appreciated the company as much as the helpful advice.

The rooms are comfortable and clean, and breakfast is good, with lots of good fruit even in winter. There's also a very nice roof terrace, with a view over the city centre over to Table Mountain. A perfect place to relax after a busy day's sightseeing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The thing that really stands out with La Rose B&B is the helpfulness of the owner. He is always present at breakfast to discuss plans of the guests and provide advise and weather forecasts. He knows a lot about all places to go in Cape Town and has interesting stories to tell as well.

We were in the Oriental room, which was clean and in good state. The excellent shower deserves special mention. There is a European power socket and free wifi, both very useful. The room also has a kettle and coffee/tea. Some space in the bathroom to put bathroom stuff on would have been nice though.

The main disadvantage is noise, as we could clearly hear the call for the morning prayer from the mosque opposite the street. Noise from the breakfast room is also heard.

Breakfast is very good. We had fruit salad, freshly baked muffins and scrambled eggs, but there was more to choose from.

The location is very good, with both the Waterfront and the city centre close by. It is close to the western edge of the safe zone where one can walk after sunset. Because the hotel has it's own night guard for guest cars on the corner with Hout Street, one can safely walk to the city centre through that street. From Buitengracht eastwards there are guards everywhere.

In sum this hotel is a very good choice except maybe for light sleepers. We would certainly go here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our experience at La Rose was amazing. Yoan and his wife did an excellent job of accomodation a room change midway thru our stay, and were exceptionally helpful in helping us catch our bus on short notice at the end of our trip. Yoan's breakfasts were amazing - fresh bread, local honey, home cooked eggs and delicious coffee every mroning. The rooftop patio was a treat, although we didn't spend as much time there as we would have liked. The B&B is in a good location, however ask for a route when walking to the waterfront, as it took us several unsuccessful attempts at finding a safe and direct route there. Also note that weekends have an eerie feel to them in the city (outside of the waterfront) - it's slightly deserted and feels a bit unsafe.

All in all, this is probably one of the best B&B's or accomodations i've ever stayed in and I'd recommend it to anyone travelling to Cape Town. Thanks Yoan!

Room Tip: The blue room is VERY small. We had originally booked that one and had to switch to a bigger one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had a great stay at La Rose. Yoan is very helpfull and has great tips on what to see in Capetown and the surrounding areas. He and his wife joined everybody at breakfast too hear our plans for that day. We really felt at home here. The hotel is situated in the colourfull Bo-Kaap and Longstreet is about a 10 minute walk at most.
Our room was a bit small, but it is very clean and we're only in our rooms to sleep so we didn't mind that much. The hotel has a cool rooftop terrace with a great view of Table mountain.
Breakfast was good. Had the famous eggs, and they deserve the fame!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I traveled solo through Africa (May 11), with my first stop being Cape Town. It was so comforting to arrive at the airport and have a safe, professional driver greet me. This was just the beginning to a wonderful experience had at La Rose.

Yoann and Adheera were extremely friendly and the B&B was impeccably clean. A little jet-lagged they let me sleep through breakfast however had some made for me when I woke up. They are a world of knowledge about the area and were more than willing to point out where to go, even showing me around simply because they had the time. Bo-Kaap is a bright, colourful part of Cape Town and La Rose is in safe walking distance to the CBD.

In a nutshell this place is clean, safe, quiet, homely and eclectic rooms, great value for money and provides excellent food (some of the best home made muesli I have ever tasted). The staff are friendly and hospitable which make them feel like a long-lost friend or family member and their communication before my arrival was excellent. My words can not do this place justice, please just visit and see for yourself!

N.B I am not normally one to write reviews but I feel this place deserves a review (even if it is 12mths late).

Room Tip: Crimson room would be sufficient in size for a couple and luggage. Ensuite had a shower/bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Rose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rose Bed & Breakfast

Address: 32 Rose St. Bo'Kaap | Bo'Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Rose is an eclectic mix of French, Indian, Cape Malay and African influences, where old world and modern embrace. Each en suite bedroom is unique and stylishly decorated to reflect the colourful Bo-Kaap and South Africa. It is home away from home, designed to cater for tourists as well as business executives and is gay friendly. Centrally located, it is one of the most central areas in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Rose Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rose Bed And Breakfast
La Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
La Rose Bed & Breakfast Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rose Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.