We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“22 on Rose” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rose Lodge to your Saves list
Rose Lodge
28 Rose Street | Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Schotsche Kloof)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 151 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“22 on Rose”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

About 22 on Rose, Room 3
- small means: tiny
- made for hobits! No joke!
- breakfast means: preapared by yourself
- lack of cleaness: bloodprints at the wall
if you are on holiday, you deserve more comfort!!!


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillelachance, Manager at Rose Lodge, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse. We are truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We wish you would have told us when you checked in that the accommodation was not to your liking. Yes, our rooms are small as advertised on our website. These are old Cape Malay family homes and they are small and have small rooms. We cannot change this, but most of our guests see the charm of them and the very modest price charged for a location in Cape Town which is hard to beat. Yes, the breakfast is self-serve at 22 on Rose and Wale Lodge. This is also made apparent when you book a room in these houses, but some people seem to miss this detail. Some guests don't like it, but others think it's great. If self-serve does not appeal to you, I think it would be best not to book with us. Breakfast is served only at out made guesthouse - Rose Lodge. My staff knows that cleanliness is priority number one and our guests can attest to this. Perhaps we overlooked the marks you saw on the wall and we do apologize.

Kind regards,

Rose Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    82
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
138
77
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

If one is just in need of a clean and comfortable place to sleep for the night then Rose Lodge is value for money. Close to the city centre and in a quiet neighbourhood.
The Bo-Kaap neighbourhood gives one a window into a part of the Cape culture.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our establishment.
Kind regards,
Rose Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Rose Lodge is a very bijou and comfortable lodge. It is situated in Bo Kaap, the picturesque & colourful Malay area, which is in handy walking distance for getting into town.

The building is well kept, clean with modern interior.
Bruce & his staff are very friendly and helpful and he has two lovely dogs - Teddy & Coco.

We stayed two nights here and 1 night down the road at Bruce's other venue: Wale Lodge (because our room was already booked out to someone else for the 3rd night). This is similar (same standard as Rose Lodge), with enclosed outside patio for breakfast, but not quite as nice. Breakfast there is 'self service'.

I would definitely stay at Bruce's again if in Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you Chris for taking the time to review our guesthouse.
Kind regards,
Amanda, Edward, coco, Teddy, &Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We found the Rose Lodge well located and value for money.The room was clean and well maintained and staff very helpful and pleasant. secure parking in the street outside the lodge was available and safe (security guard stationed during the night).
Close to amenities that we required.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our guesthouse.
Kind regards,
Rose Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a delayed review! My friend and I stayed at Rose Lodge in May 2013. Excellent service and location. We loved colorful Bo-Kaap, and we found it to be safe and close to many landmarks. Bruce was very helpful and easy to communicate with, even before arriving in Cape Town. Thank you, Bruce, for providing a pleasant stay in Cape Town!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
It's so nice of you to write a message so long after you stayed with us. We are happy we left you with such fond memories !
Kind regards,
Amanda, Edward, Coco, Teddy, & Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Rose Lodge is in a very nice location in the middle of Bo-Kaap but also very close to the Green Market and town centre. The accomodation is average, but for the price OK. The rooms are very different!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillelachance, General Manager at Rose Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our guesthouse.
Kind regards,
Rose Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Location is fine and the price is low.. However, no air-con at the rooms, noisy, the bed was dirty (did not change the sheets as they were full of hair before we used them...), breakfast is self-service and very simple. Hotel manager woke us up very early one day and started asking us a lot of questions.. after a while it turns out he was looking for some of the other guests and had knocked on the wrong door (although there were only two rooms in the building and he welcomed us the day before, but not recognising we were the same guest...)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I shall speak to my manager about this. We are terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I wish you had spoken to me while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Lodge

Address: 28 Rose Street | Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Lodge, 22 on Rose and Wale Lodge are located in Rose and Wale Street in the colorful historic Muslim Malay Quarter (Bo-Kaap) of Cape Town. It is only a 5 minute walk from downtown CT or the trendy De Waterkant Village (cafes, restaurants, bars & clubs), and within walking distance of Cape Town International Convention Centre, and the V&A Waterfront. All rooms are en-suite with shower (bath) & toilet, TV, safe, air-conditioning, heating, and coffee & tea facilities.The rooms in these old "Malay" houses are not big, but they are all en-suite, with TVs, safes, air-conditioning and heating. Coffee & tea facilities are available in the kitchens and free wifi in the communal areas. We provide a laundry service if required and can arrange your transfers or tours. We are a non-smoking guesthouse and are dog friendly. A substantial continental self-serve buffet breakfast is provided.English, German, and French are spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rose Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.