We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Lodge

Save Saved
You added Rose Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rose Lodge
28 Rose Street | Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Schotsche Kloof)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 148 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Gata de Gorgos, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a very pleasant stay, lovely well equipped and modern accomodation, excellent value, Bruce is a courteous and friendly host, I also used him for airport pick up which was an added bonus, I would recommend this lovely guest house to anyone who wants good value accomodation, well situated I couldn't have chosen any better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review !
Regards,
Coco, Teddy, and Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    69
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
117
67
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swakopmund, Namibia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at Rose Lodge and this is the best place ever. We were treated like family, and Bruce is an DARLING !! We enjoyed his company and those of his "children" Coco and Teddy! We thank him and the service and friendship he give to us with so much love ! Thank you Bruce !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much and look forward to hosting you again !

Kind regards,

Coco, Teddy, and Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Clean, modern, and very comfortable. Well situated in the city, in the very cute bo kaap neighbourhood. Bruce and his two cute doggies were there to check me in and were very hospitable. Would highly recommend this spot!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review. Much appreciated !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Rose Lodge was all what we expected plus more.
The host,Bruce with his lovely canine family,is a wonderful host.We were staying in Rose lodge for almost 3 weeks and it was a very pleasant stay.WE felt right at home, having fresh brewed french pressed coffee and the freshest OJ every morning with a light breakfast on a front porch, watching some tourists wandering the streets.There is also a nice Cafe serving breakfast and lunch down the street worth visiting.
Bruce made us feel as part of his family.He served us breakfast,spent time with us, giving all the ins and outs about the town and its people.Any questions we had, Bruce was there to guide us with advice,recommendations and maps.Our favorite time -passing was having wine on the porch with the host during sunsets before dinner. :)
We stayed in 2 rooms in 2 different houses.Both rooms were exceptionally clean and had air conditioners in them.We liked both of these rooms,1 being a close-knit family style experience with Bruce, and the other room in the other house if you are looking for more alone time not wanting to socialize.
The location of Rose Lodge is on the sideline of the center of downtown. It is in the walking distance to parks, shopping, cafes and restaurants.
It is a beautiful colorful quiet street close to all the mingle of downtown yet distanced to have a good night sleep.
Rose Lodge has a lot of repeat guests and we will be one of them.The location is great but what made the experience, was the hospitality and thanks to Bruce and his 4 legged friends, we felt right at home away from home.Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much ! We hope you'll come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

What a disappointment. Although the Rose Lodge is well located as is its other properties, our expectations were barely met. We never saw the owners despite glowing reviews in Trip Advisor about the helpfulness and warmth of the owners. It is basically a self-catering operation that provides visitors with the bare necessities. It is clean and it's location allows visitors to walk to many interesting sites and good restaurants day and night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

I'm so sorry you were disappointed with your stay and we did not live up to your expectations. I am the sole owner of Rose Lodge. We have 11 rooms and unfortunately I am sometimes not able to meet all of my guests, especially when we are extremely busy, as was the case with you. After all, you did book accommodation and not a stay with me personally, but I'm very flattered that you wanted to meet me so much. I was not avoiding you and am always available in my office, per email, or on my phone to help my guests in any way I can. When guests don't ask for help, I assume they don't need it. My PA, Tracey, checked you in and said when I asked her that you were happy with the accommodation which makes me wonder why you didn't complain about anything while you were here? As guests pay on arrival you could have cancelled your booking at no charge if you we not happy - that is my policy, as we only want satisfied guests staying with us. Our breakfasts are self-serve in 3 of our houses and you were made aware of this when you booked your room. This is the description of the room you booked : "Wale Lodge is a 5 minute walk from Rose Lodge just around the corner in Wale Street. The room has a queen size bed with en-suite shower & toilet, TV, air-conditioning/heating, wifi & safe. A substantial self-serve continental breakfast is provided". Self-catering means you supply your own food which is not the case here. Our fridges are stocked daily with fresh orange juice, milk, yogurt, 2 kinds of bread, & eggs. Fresh fruit, three types of cereal, jams, and teas as well as fresh and instant coffee are also available. We consider this a very substantial breakfast, as do most of our guests. You of course also have the possibility of buying extra food for yourselves and storing it in the fridge. I can understand that some people want breakfast made for them and served at their table, but this is not the case and it is clearly stated when you book a room at Wale Lodge, 22 on Rose, or Orange on Rose.

I hope that this has cleared up a few points to others who might read your review.

Thank you once again for staying with us and our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,

Coco, Teddy, and Bruce (Coco & Teddy are my dogs and not the owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I enjoyed staying at this lodge as the owner was very friendly even when there were some misunderstanding with my bookings.The rooms were very clean and I really felt at home.I would highly recommend it.


  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you Mamello for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again for a longer stay !
Kind regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was our fourth stay at Rose Lodge and it was as great as ever. It's a small (only 2 rooms) comfortable guest house with a great, very central location - only 10 minutes walk to Greenmarket Square, and 20 minutes to the Waterfront. Bruce offers information about restaurants nearby (of which there are several) and general tourist information. He was always helpful.
We loved the Bo-Kaap area and at no time did we feel unsafe there. On the contrary because it's a Muslim area and very family orientated, there were often people on the streets, unlike the downtown area which can seem deserted after five in the evening. When we hired a car, although there was only on-street parking, there was a security guard who stayed in place all night. And all this for very reasonable rates.

Room Tip: The suite is a lovely room, light and spacious, with a great open plan style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We are so happy when guests return to Rose Lodge ! It's the best reward we could have. Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to hosting you again !!

Warm regards,

Coco, Teddy, and Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rose Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Lodge

Address: 28 Rose Street | Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Lodge, 22 on Rose and Wale Lodge are located in Rose and Wale Street in the colorful historic Muslim Malay Quarter (Bo-Kaap) of Cape Town. It is only a 5 minute walk from downtown CT or the trendy De Waterkant Village (cafes, restaurants, bars & clubs), and within walking distance of Cape Town International Convention Centre, and the V&A Waterfront. All rooms are en-suite with shower (bath) & toilet, TV, safe, air-conditioning, heating, and coffee & tea facilities.The rooms in these old "Malay" houses are not big, but they are all en-suite, with TVs, safes, air-conditioning and heating. Coffee & tea facilities are available in the kitchens and free wifi in the communal areas. We provide a laundry service if required and can arrange your transfers or tours. We are a non-smoking guesthouse and are dog friendly. A substantial continental self-serve buffet breakfast is provided.English, German, and French are spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Rose Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.