We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely room, great breakfast and helpful team” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tintagel Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tintagel Guesthouse to your Saves list
Tintagel Guesthouse
90 New Church Street | Gardens/ Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 147 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“lovely room, great breakfast and helpful team”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and found this to be a really great place to stay- we arrived really early after an overnight flight and we were allowed to get into our room well before our 'official' check in time - obviously we were lucky that the room wasn't occupied the night before as well:) Both Adri and Utah were hugely helpful in pointing us in the right direction for things we wanted to see and even helped arrange a drive for the day so we could go and tour the Cape Point.

Restaurant recommendations were also spot on - recommend Arnolds! - We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room that isn't next to the road - if you are not used to city noise, it ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Tintagel Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you for your review!
We do try to accommodate early arrivals before 11h00 as best possible.
Rooms 4,5,6 and the small single room 7 are all situated in the courtyard and pick up the least traffic noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
53
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergschenhoek
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

The staff was helpfull and fun to talk with. Our room was clean and with a good bed. The breakfast we enjoyed on the terrace was delicious. Location in Cape Town is very central, most things can be visited on foot. We had dinner in Ricks Place, we can recommend that too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Arrived here after two very long flights to a very warm welcome. Hosts were very helpful with maps, guides and recommendations for exploring Cape Town. They hoisted our national flag (Wales) as they do with all their international guests. Room was large and had a good sized bathroom and good facilities in the room. Excellent breakfasts and use of the free internet was very helpful. Space for parking and as we were tired we dident stumble more than 50 metres from the door to a cafe/bar restaurant called Ricki's and it was so nice we went back there the next day (will write a review on this too). . Not too far to walk into Cape Town yet so quiet at night you wouldent think you were in the city.All in all a good spot to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Very lovely guest house with extremely friendly, flexible and helpful staff. Great location in central Cape Town, Camps Bay and Clifton within easy reach. Delicious breakfast, stylish rooms and shared spaces, loved the jarapego. Felt very welcome!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We found this little gem through trip advisor and we couldn't fault it. Location in a safe area and is within walking distance of most attractions and fab restaurants - try Ricks Place and Arnolds. Staff so helpful especially for first timers to the city and made helpful suggestions which we just right for us. We loved the breakfasts and the little extras - sherry and chocs - just makes it special. Would stop again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

My friends and I stayed at the Tintagel for 6 nights in October 2011. We absolutely loved the place! The breakfast is delicious and fresh, the rooms are clean, and pretty, the beds are comfy and we loved the little extra touches of coffee/tea, sherry and chocolate at the bedside! The location can't be beat as it is in walking distance to great cafes and restaurants, we felt safe walking in the area at night. We felt very at home here, especially with great hosts like Adri and Utah - they were both extremely helpful in booking tours and making suggestions on things to do. I have no doubt that if you choose to stay here, you will love it as much as I did!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed in the Tintagel Guest House for one night in June 2011 and then for 8 nights in September 2011 on my way to and from St Helena. The welcome was warm and friendly, and Adri and Utah went out of their way to be helpful, even helping with some food shopping! They also booked tours for us and lent us guide books. And I learnt a lot about South Africa from them and from Ivan the owner who came in to chat over breakfast every day. The guest house is beautifully restored and the rooms large and comfortable with lovely white cotton sheets and snug duvets. Tea and coffee making facilities, plus carafe of port in every room. Bathroom had excellent shower and plenty of room to put toiletries - other hotels take note! Freshly cooked breakfast every day and a huge range of restaurants within easy and safe walking distance. And Bo Kaap, Company Gardens and the museum area are also close by. It may have reflected the season we stayed (low) but we were able to keep our rooms until we departed for the airport in the evening. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cape Town now!

Room Tip: Room 6 at the top of the stairs is light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tintagel Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintagel Guesthouse

Address: 90 New Church Street | Gardens/ Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tintagel guesthouse is an elegant,restored Victorian townhouse(dated 1881)and has been trading since 2004. Tintagel is situated in New Church Street,just off Kloof Street in Gardens,central Cape Town. The guesthouse has central city location and charming ambience. Restaurants,cafes and pubs in Kloof Street.Long Street is a 10 minute walk from Tintagel.Rates include full breakfast and wifi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tintagel Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintagel Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tintagel Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.