We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cactus House
Save
You added Cactus House to your Saves list
4 Molteno Rd., Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel amenities
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We just left yesterday Cactus House. The guesthouse is a perfect setting for those who would not like to stay in the crowd of the gay district and prefer to live in front of a nice park. Our room had a superb view on the montain. But the main point is how Julian cares about his guest's and comfort. As a perfectionist, he takes care of them, always wants to improve. Their satisfaction is his pride. He is a very good cook, works a lot in the house and keeps his sunny smile all day long. Simon, although discreet and busy with his profession, takes also care of his guest very well: on a morning, we needed a hair dryer. As soon as he learned it, he left the house to buy one!
Another good point: breakfast is served until 11 am.
Also a mention to Albert, who will always be available to help you with kindness.
What a diffecrence with the guesthouse where we stayed just before. Also very well runned, but its owner was so under stress about everything that we had the feeling to be just admitted to help her to pay her loan on the house!
You should stay at Cactus House on your next stay in CT!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    8
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
31
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Julian, what can I say. You went out of your way everyday to ensure our stay was as comfortable as it could be. Thank you for the wonderfully delicious breakfasts and the friendly environment you have created in this perfectly situated house. So close to Table Mountain and a very short Taxi to the V&A Waterfront. (oh and when you leave half the contents of your suitcase behind Julian and Simon ensure they get it back to you. Even if you are half way across the country. Thank you for that) You would be crazy not to stay here, it's comfortable, stylish modern and friendly. Plus great value for money.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the back garden with the pool and a lovely view of Lions Head
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

What can we say!
A truly excellent stay in a beautiful home in a wonderful City.
From the clean, spacious and contemporary room to the cooked-to-order breakfast, nothing was too much trouble and everything was perfect.
Julian was the perfect host and provided us with a very memorable stay of our time in Cape Town.

Room Tip: We had one of the large rooms on the front with balcony and view of the mountain - a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I actually owned a B & B in the Virgin Islands at one time, so I know how difficult it is to "do it right? Well, these guys have done it right. Beautiful old Victorian house but light and modern on the inside with lot's of private spaces. Best place I've stayed in ages (beat the $900/night hotel room I had in Manhattan on the way over). Julian did it just right--lot's of personal attention without "moving in".

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Spent two weeks at Cactus House. It was truly an amazing experience and I can’t wait to return sometime soon. The house is stunningly beautiful and the service beyond belief. Breakfast is a culinary delight with great food served with artistic flare. The rooms are very comfortable and pleasingly decorated. Julian, the host, is most attentive in ensuring that the needs of the guests are being met. His experience in the hospitality industry is more than evident. His service is highly professional and his personality most charming. Staying at Cactus House was the highlight of my visit to Cape Town.
I would highly recommend Cactus House to anyone looking for a magnificent travel experience.
Lyle - Edmonton, Canada

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

it was not our first trip to Cape town, but we never stayed in a better guest house.
Simon and his stuff made us feeling at home from the very first moment when we arrived. The house is lovely decorated and the rooms are spacious. We had one of two rooms with a private terrasse and a lovely viw of table mountain. Breakfast is prepared until noon and done individually for every guest.
Simon's recommendations for restaurants have been excellent, just ask him and he will guide you to a perfect place.
Just check in at the cactus house and enjoy Cape town. We wll come back! Promised!
Markus and George

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed a week at the Cactus House. We had read some excellent reviews of the house, so our expectations were quite high. We were defenitely proven right.

The rooms are spacious and clean, with both TV and DVD player. We stayed in room 3, which has a huge balcony overlooking Table Mountain. There's even a tub out there. Magnificent.

OK, we've heard about the small pool. So what!!!! It is in the lovely backyard, and a good place to relax.

The absolute best thing sbout the place is the staff. Morne is really nice, Simon is so cool, and last - but not least, Julian is absolutely wonderful and great fun to hang out with. They're not in your face at all, but available if you need anything. Very helpful indeed. Guys, don't ever change, you're the best.

All in all, this is a really cool place to stay, and it looked like the other guests were happy as well. We really interacted. We would recommend this place in a heartbeat.

Big thanx from Kenneth & Nicolai

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cactus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus House

Address: 4 Molteno Rd., Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cactus House Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.