We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Manolo

Save Saved
You added Boutique Manolo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Manolo
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   33 Leeukloof Drive | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Best B&B ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

From the moment Peter opened the door for us with a huge smile on his face, we knew we had arrived somewhere special. We had one of the smaller rooms but the views from our terrace of Table Mountain by day and the twinkling city lights at night were amazing. The gourmet breakfast, served in a light airy dining room by Peter and Leen, was a great way to start the day. At all times, Peter and Leen couldn't do enough for us, arranging restaurants and taxis and giving us all the tips we needed to make the most of our five days in Cape Town. Their attention to detail, both in design and in the everyday running of the B&B, were second to none. Everywhere was spotless and the same-day laundry service returned everything beautifully ironed and folded. The complimentary bottle of bubbly on our last evening just capped it all off beautifuly. We've stayed in top B&Bs in many different countries, but Boutique Manolo has to be the best ever. If you're staying in Cape Town it's not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    376
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
290
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This place has the most incredible views you are likely to see, anywhere in Cape Town. We spent 5 nights in the magnificent 'penthouse' room - which has a large living room with a massive terrace (with that view!) and a cozy bedroom downstairs, with an amazing open-plan bathtub with a view.

The whole place is very light and airy, lots of white colours, all to make the most of the truly magnificient backdrop of table mountain and the bright lights of the city below.

The hosts were truly lovely, the breakfasts excellent - fresh fruit, great coffee, croissants and eggs etc - and the whole atmosphere really laid back and pleasant. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Cape Town. In fact, we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the last 3 days of our honeymoon. It is such a cool place to stay! Peter, Leen and Sarah were all so lovely and helpful! We got lots of tips about places to go - bars and restaurants that we otherwise wouldn't have known about - try Bungalow for cocktails at sunset and the Test Kitchen for amazing food and wine. We had great breakfasts and homemade smoothies! We would love to back again and stay in the Penthouse!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at Manolo for our honeymoon and we could not have asked for more. Room was very cozy and scenic. Absolutely lovely. We were cared for by Peter and Leen. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone especially if you are looking for a lovely romantic getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a place for a shorter or longer stay in Cape Town, if you like it intimate with a personal touch. The location is stunning, with great views of the city, and with walking distance to the centre of town. It's a couple's place, rather than families primarily, and the owners do their utmost to make your stay a special one!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a lovely 2 nights stay at Boutique Manolo and highly recommend it. Leen and Peter were great hosts and very knowledgable and helpful with restaurants, shopping, and sightseeing. The hotel is a beautiful property that is within walking distance from Long street, but if you prefer to take a cab the staff can easily arrange it for you. The property is located in a nice neighborhood and we felt very safe walking to and from the hotel. Some might find the walk back to the hotel challenging as some parts require an uphill walk, but we enjoyed it. We stayed in room 400 which had a lovely view and great outdoor shower. The breakfast was fresh, healthy, and very filling. We especially loved the fruit smoothies. On our last evening, we returned to a candle lit room and received a lovely thank you note from Leen and Peter along with some chocolates and bubbly, which made it very special. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 400 has beautiful views of the Table Top Mountain and a nice outside garden. The room is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My friend in Cape Town referred me to Boutique Manolo and we decided to stay here for 3 nights for a weekend away. Close to Long Street and bars and restaurants, and of course the style of the place was the reason of booking. The room looked much nicer than on the website and the host Peter and Sarah were so friendly... they booked restaurants and said what bars were the latest. We had a brilliant time and felt really spoilt. Will surely go back next time!

Room Tip: Try room 300 or 100 -whatever your budget allows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boutique Manolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Manolo

Address: 33 Leeukloof Drive | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Manolo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Manolo is a small luxury Cape Town boutique hotel. Nestled at the base of Table Mountain in the quiet suburb of Tamboerskloof and only minutes away from the centre of Cape Town, V&A Waterfront and CTICC. Our boutique hotel offers 4 luxurious suites and a penthouse, where design and chic go hand in hand with comfortable warm rooms accompanied by personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Boutique Manolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Manolo Hotel Cape Town Central
Boutique Manolo Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Manolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.