We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despite its flaws, I extended my stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leeuwenvoet House

Save Saved
You added Leeuwenvoet House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leeuwenvoet House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No 8 Kloof Nek Road | 93 New Church Street, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 149 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Despite its flaws, I extended my stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Review from an experienced international traveler. Note: I lived in SA for two years so can't say if this was good value/money as I've never paid to stay here before this.

The Good:
-the location: on a quiet road between two fun streets in a great neighbourhood which offers everything you need in terms of restos, coffee spots, bars, even a good club. If you're walking, it's a fairly safe area, close enough so you can reach Long St. by foot, and there are cheap cabs everywhere. Camps Bay is a ten-minute 8$ cab ride, for example.
-outstanding breakfast, lots of delicious choices
-the staff/ownership are very friendly and helpful. Went out of their way to accommodate.
-the grounds are lovely. You don't expect this much space in a downtown B+B, but there are quiet nooks everywhere, including the secluded deck w/pool. The pool is quite a bit smaller than it seems in the picture (think large jacuzzi), and the view from the deck pictured in the ad doesn't quite reflect the current reality as you can't see town through the roof of the adjacent buildings, but it's lovely all the same.
-room size varies, but my first room (#2) was massive, which is unusual in most B&Bs.

The Not So Good:
-the rooms feel as though you're staying at a friend's place. A tidy friend, but one who should replace his shabby carpets. It's not a 4* well appointed B&B; anyone expecting the 'little luxuries' will be disappointed. It's a great place to launch your exploration of Cape Town, not to stay in your room.
-the noises: this was the most serious problem, at least in Room 2 and I would presume Room 1. I could hear the pipes roaring whenever they took a shower (sadly my neighbour was an early riser), and my contribution to the noise pollution occurred every time I used the taps, which caused a racket which lasted 30 seconds after they were switched off. This was brought to the attention of the owner. And a common occurrence in B&Bs: when people file in and out early in the morning or late at night, they often don't have the courtesy to keep conversation and noise to a minimum. So if you're a night owl and hope to sleep in, this isn't the place for you. That said, the "upper" rooms in the adjacent wing in which I stayed for one night seemed quieter and more secluded.
-the internet was at normal SA speed in common areas, but I had no coverage in my room, which one of the staff confirmed was normal.

Three-star accommodation with five-star staff in a five-star location. It was perfect for my purposes (I extended my stay by three days) but I could understand if it didn't fit everyone's needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't in the main building for a quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    25
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
28
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this excellent Guest House for 4 nights in December. Shadre had even organised the taxi pick up for us from the airport and everything fitted nicely in to place.
We were looked after from arriving and being welcomed by Teresa until we left.
Wonderful staff who really looked after us and Isabellas breakfasts were delightful.
Superb views of Table Mountain from the patio and an honesty bar.
Great location for walking to restaurants in the surrounding area.

Thanks to you all

John and Susan Watson

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

They've got only 15 rooms. I wish they had more. You kind of check in to "home". You have keys that allow you to go and come. They make breakfast in the kitchen and you kind of chat while you eat. Ask of Teresa, she is a nice little motherly lady .. that not just treats you, but spoils you.

When I checked out, they stowed my luggage for 3 days, when I had to go to Mandela's funeral. And when I came back, she welcomed me... like her child.

For once, I felt bad to leave. Plus, the lady owner speaks French! C'est super, non?

Room Tip: I slept on the rooms on the roof. The wind was louder there. Next time, I will choose the rooms belo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Very warm welcome after a long flight from the UK. we had first room on the left as you entered and it was extremely comfortable with a lovely big bed and superb bathroom with a large Roll Top bath Ideal to relax in after a many hours travelling.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and recommended fantastic eateries all within a few minutes walk.
The breakfasts were superb and with a large choice.
all in all would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: 1st on the left from the entrance. Large room with large bathroom with shower and separate bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Lovely warm welcome and great service. Helpful ideas on places to eat etc. Round the corner from Millers Thumb which should not be missed! Gorgeous comfy beds and large room (first one on the left as you walk in) .Bathroom really great with large roll top bath which I enjoyed relaxing in after my long day travelling. Breakfast delicious with a variety of hot food choices. Will definitely try and stay there again.Thankyou.

Room Tip: first room on left great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, MT
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We enjoyed Leeuwenvoet House for 3 nights on our first trip to Cape Town. We got in very late at night from Nairobi but no worries. The room was comfortable, if not large. The breakfasts were lovely with lots to eat in a friendly communal atmosphere. We were able to safely walk to different excellent restaurants nearby through a nice older neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

In late September the weather should have been kinder but instead we were met by a cold wind. In contrast, the welcome that we received at Leeuwenhoek was warm, friendly and most helpful. The bedrooms were comfortable and the breakfast spreads memorable. We were totally satisfied and will make it our target when next in CapeTown.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katvoet, Owner at Leeuwenvoet House, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Cape Town is indeed a fantastic city and we have the privilege of being just in the right location.
We have conveyed your praise to our staff and they appreciate it greatly.
Thank you and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Leeuwenvoet House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeuwenvoet House

Address: No 8 Kloof Nek Road | 93 New Church Street, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leeuwenvoet House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house is a restored Victorian building with modern interior, in the trendy Kloof Street restaurant district. Walk to the city centre to visit museums, art galleries and gardens. Fifteen individually decorated, en-suite bedrooms with king size or twin, extra long beds, air-conditioning, wi-fi, safe, hairdryer and tea tray. Breakfast is a feast. Splash pool and sundeck with a beautiful view of Table Mountain. Close to Waterfront, Table Mountain, Convention Centre and Camps Bay/Clifton beaches. Enclosed parking. Airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Leeuwenvoet House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeuwenvoet House Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leeuwenvoet House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.