We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming & friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leeuwenvoet House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Leeuwenvoet House to your Saves list
Leeuwenvoet House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No 8 Kloof Nek Road | 93 New Church Street, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 147 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Welcoming & friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

In late September the weather should have been kinder but instead we were met by a cold wind. In contrast, the welcome that we received at Leeuwenhoek was warm, friendly and most helpful. The bedrooms were comfortable and the breakfast spreads memorable. We were totally satisfied and will make it our target when next in CapeTown.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katvoet, Owner at Leeuwenvoet House, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Cape Town is indeed a fantastic city and we have the privilege of being just in the right location.
We have conveyed your praise to our staff and they appreciate it greatly.
Thank you and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    27
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
32
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bavaria, Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had room 1003 the first room on the right past the registration desk, nice room, carpet needed cleaning, beds were very hard. Light from smoking area shined in thru bathroom all night long. Bathroom had glass window in door only slightly frosted so did not block light when closed. Also guests arriving late at night could be heard in hallway if they were not cautious to be quiet. Pillows were soft down. Breakfast was cook to order and the cook did a fabulous job of getting fried eggs, omelet s or poached eggs just right. Staff was friendly and helpful. We were around the corner from millers Thumb Resturant and an easy 5 minute walk to Nelson's Eye a great steak house

Room Tip: We had room 1003 the first room on the right past the registration desk, nice room, carpet needed cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katvoet, Owner at Leeuwenvoet House, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for letting us know how you felt about your stay at Leeuwenvoet House. Our staff and the cook especially appreciate your positive feedback.
We do regret, however, that you did not bring to our attention the issues which annoyed you. If we had known that the night light disturbed you, we would merely have closed the solid shutter on the outside of the bathroom window and the problem would have been solved.
Carpeting is a perpetual source of concern in hotels, guest houses and public spaces. We are now considering removing the carpeting to reveal the original wooden floors of the house. We would really appreciate if you would let us know whether that would be a solution in your opinion? Of course, the side-effect of having wooden floors, is that it may be noisy ...
We trust that these issues did not detract from enjoying the delights of Cape Town and that you will remember your visit to our beautiful city with fondness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Cape Town in the winter is great. We spent a couple weeks there in June, and the highlight of our trip was our stay at Leeuwenvoet House. The beautifully restored Victorian homes are in a vibrant and safe neighborhood, close to many good restaurants, shopping and lovely neighborhoods to explore.

Our room was well appointed, large and quiet. The bedding was luxurious. After a busy day, we enjoyed coming "home" for a cup of tea and some quiet time. In the afternoon, we sat on the deck which overlooks Table Mountain and enjoyed a glass of wine. Allow lots of time to savor the outstanding breakfasts. They are unbelievable! In addition, to a large buffett, including pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereals,and juices, guests are given menus each morning featuring delicious breakfast items. Our breakfasts tided us over to supper.

The staff was very attentive to our needs and promptly provided assistance. On our trip to South Africa, I dropped my smart phone and shattered the screen. Helena, the inn keeper, found a cell phone repair shop (just around the corner) and I was able to promptly make the repair. We hope to return to Cape Town as soon as possible and we will certainly stay at Leeuwenvoet House when we do.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenaMacPhail, Owner at Leeuwenvoet House, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
You have no idea how heart-warming it is to receive such praise from our guests - thank you very much. You were star guests and we will welcome you back with open arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Let me state straight off that I have been doing business with this property for eleven years. I met the owners then who are still there now at a travel trade function and on learning of their personal ethos decided to go & have a look at their offering. Since 2002 I have placed many domestic & international clients with them & have stayed over myself on numerous occassions. So why do I only put pen to paper now ? Good question and the possible answer has to do with sustainability of hospitality I believe. Leeuwenvoet ( ' lions foot ' in English ) House is in the hands of a couple who care about their staff & guests. Their Team is inculcated to live up to this great hospitality ethos and as such each guest is provided with an exceptional level of personal service be you a first timer to Africa or a regular visitor. Positioned within close walking distance to many restaurants ( Millers Thumb if my favoutrite sixty meters away ) , the V & A Waterfront and local motorway access, here is just about the most the most central location to be at within Cape Town. As an added bonus, they built a purpose built deck with full views of Table Mountain and a few steps away from their plunge pool. Warmth of human connectivity, quietly confident in their offering and together for many years Team Leeuwenvoet holds pole position for me in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Its a city centre hotel so try & secure a room in their ' new wing ' or furthest from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katvoet, Owner at Leeuwenvoet House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for all your support in the past. Nineteen years of hard work recognised means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Got in late but Debbie stayed up for us then made us sandwiches and made us feel welcome.
rooms were nicely decorated but had issues with our safe(it never did work)
breakfast was delicious
easy walk to long street

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maun, Botswana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

When you meet giggly staff which are not afraid to share the kitchen with you and present help when help is needed that's when you know you are at a good place! Each room is individually designed in both colour and style, good and secure parking, smiley staff, grande breakfast and an excellent hostess, not far from " downtown" with lots of dining places around the house. Have a picknick on top of the roof with the Pool and the stunning view to the Mountain....can I say more? We loved it, thanks Helena and Rod!!!!

Room Tip: Up on the second level, first room to the left or the last one on the left side, has a huge bathtub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leeuwenvoet House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeuwenvoet House

Address: No 8 Kloof Nek Road | 93 New Church Street, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leeuwenvoet House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house is a restored Victorian building with modern interior, in the trendy Kloof Street restaurant district. Walk to the city centre to visit museums, art galleries and gardens. Fifteen individually decorated, en-suite bedrooms with king size or twin, extra long beds, air-conditioning, wi-fi, safe, hairdryer and tea tray. Breakfast is a feast. Splash pool and sundeck with a beautiful view of Table Mountain. Close to Waterfront, Table Mountain, Convention Centre and Camps Bay/Clifton beaches. Enclosed parking. Airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Leeuwenvoet House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeuwenvoet House Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leeuwenvoet House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.