We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This makes your holidays in Cape Town even better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leeuwenvoet House

Save Saved
You added Leeuwenvoet House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leeuwenvoet House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No 8 Kloof Nek Road | 93 New Church Street, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 149 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This makes your holidays in Cape Town even better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We are a couple and we stayed at this lovely guesthouse twice for a total of 4 nights. Service, clanliness, breakfast were great. A beautiful old house with an overview on Table Mountain. Rooms are clean, big, with a lot of light. Breakfast is luxuriousy. A great address, really. Located 15 min walk from Long street, we think this is one of the best places to stay in CT.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    25
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
29
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great start to begin our South Africa trip.Location was handy for getting around with a car,or walking to local restaurants.Close walking to hop on bus route.Great big rooms.Breakfastfantastic.Sit around large table with other guests,great for hearing everyone else's travel stories.Staff very friendly and so helpfull.views of table mountain incredible from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights over Christmas. The guesthouse is really nice (but not 4 stars as advertised), great location - 2 minute walk from Kloof St restaurants, nice pool and deck area, it has great views of Table Mountain. The breakfast were really good with a lot of options and the staff are super friendly. The owner booked the tickets for Table Mountain for us (at her suggestion due to it being peak season), this probably saved us over an hour of lining up! Overall really happy with our choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katvoet, Owner at Leeuwenvoet House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We try our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey u.k
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

It was my third visit and it felt like coming back home.
The staff are very helpfull and will book and recommend restaurants and tourist attractions.

The location is ideal and you can walk into town.
Very nice breakfast which is a very good start to the day.

Room Tip: have stayed in the front and back of the first floor all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast tasty and very generous, the common room with the honor bar was a nice extra and the staff could not have been more accommodating. We had the opportunity to visit local restaurants and were not disappointed. Rick's was very reasonable and offered good food. If you need an excellent guide contact Gabriel at Gabetours@vodamail.co.za.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola, Kansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a nice B & B practically in the shadow of, and certainly a quick drive to, Table Mountain. The manager was very helpful when it came to attractions, directions, and general hints and tips. For example she said, "If the sun is shining, go to Table Mountain." We took her advice and were so glad we did, as we enjoyed several hours of sunshine on the mountain that can be clouded in (and therefore the cable car to the top is closed) for weeks at a time. She also made reservations for us for the Robben Island ferry. Her staff prepared a delicious breakfast, with fruit, cereal and yogurt standard, then you can request an omelet or French Toast, etc. I highly recommend the French Toast. It was the best I've ever had. Our room was large and comfortable with stuffed chairs and a soft bed, and the bathroom and shower were fine as well. An added bonus for feline fans was a resident cat, who, on our third night, came in our room and fell asleep on the floor until we sent her back into the hall when we were ready to sleep. She will certainly not push her way into your room though, she's just around if you'd like her company. As far as location, we could have walked to the downtown, but chose not to after dark. There is a great Italian restaurant across the street with an Italian proprietor eager to satisfy his patrons, and easily did with the best pizza we've had, including in Italy. This is a great place to stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Hard to fault this place: the location is good, the rooms nice, the bed comfy, the heating adequate, the staff lovely and the breakfast excellent. We could even see Table Mountain from our room! We would return here and would certainly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Leeuwenvoet House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeuwenvoet House

Address: No 8 Kloof Nek Road | 93 New Church Street, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leeuwenvoet House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house is a restored Victorian building with modern interior, in the trendy Kloof Street restaurant district. Walk to the city centre to visit museums, art galleries and gardens. Fifteen individually decorated, en-suite bedrooms with king size or twin, extra long beds, air-conditioning, wi-fi, safe, hairdryer and tea tray. Breakfast is a feast. Splash pool and sundeck with a beautiful view of Table Mountain. Close to Waterfront, Table Mountain, Convention Centre and Camps Bay/Clifton beaches. Enclosed parking. Airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Leeuwenvoet House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeuwenvoet House Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leeuwenvoet House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.