We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leeuwenvoet House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Leeuwenvoet House to your Saves list
Leeuwenvoet House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No 8 Kloof Nek Road | 93 New Church Street, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 147 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great start to begin our South Africa trip.Location was handy for getting around with a car,or walking to local restaurants.Close walking to hop on bus route.Great big rooms.Breakfastfantastic.Sit around large table with other guests,great for hearing everyone else's travel stories.Staff very friendly and so helpfull.views of table mountain incredible from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    25
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
29
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights over Christmas. The guesthouse is really nice (but not 4 stars as advertised), great location - 2 minute walk from Kloof St restaurants, nice pool and deck area, it has great views of Table Mountain. The breakfast were really good with a lot of options and the staff are super friendly. The owner booked the tickets for Table Mountain for us (at her suggestion due to it being peak season), this probably saved us over an hour of lining up! Overall really happy with our choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katvoet, Owner at Leeuwenvoet House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We try our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey u.k
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

It was my third visit and it felt like coming back home.
The staff are very helpfull and will book and recommend restaurants and tourist attractions.

The location is ideal and you can walk into town.
Very nice breakfast which is a very good start to the day.

Room Tip: have stayed in the front and back of the first floor all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast tasty and very generous, the common room with the honor bar was a nice extra and the staff could not have been more accommodating. We had the opportunity to visit local restaurants and were not disappointed. Rick's was very reasonable and offered good food. If you need an excellent guide contact Gabriel at Gabetours@vodamail.co.za.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola, Kansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a nice B & B practically in the shadow of, and certainly a quick drive to, Table Mountain. The manager was very helpful when it came to attractions, directions, and general hints and tips. For example she said, "If the sun is shining, go to Table Mountain." We took her advice and were so glad we did, as we enjoyed several hours of sunshine on the mountain that can be clouded in (and therefore the cable car to the top is closed) for weeks at a time. She also made reservations for us for the Robben Island ferry. Her staff prepared a delicious breakfast, with fruit, cereal and yogurt standard, then you can request an omelet or French Toast, etc. I highly recommend the French Toast. It was the best I've ever had. Our room was large and comfortable with stuffed chairs and a soft bed, and the bathroom and shower were fine as well. An added bonus for feline fans was a resident cat, who, on our third night, came in our room and fell asleep on the floor until we sent her back into the hall when we were ready to sleep. She will certainly not push her way into your room though, she's just around if you'd like her company. As far as location, we could have walked to the downtown, but chose not to after dark. There is a great Italian restaurant across the street with an Italian proprietor eager to satisfy his patrons, and easily did with the best pizza we've had, including in Italy. This is a great place to stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Hard to fault this place: the location is good, the rooms nice, the bed comfy, the heating adequate, the staff lovely and the breakfast excellent. We could even see Table Mountain from our room! We would return here and would certainly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I have to say that while the location was good, the bed wonderful, the cook delightful, and the staff helpful and pleasant, I could only rate this B & B as a "2 maybe 3 star" establishment. I did check out the rooms online via Trip Adviser before I committed to them. The agent we used uses this place a lot, so I felt confident that it would be as people described. I was sorely disappointed. The room we had was in desperate need of refurbishment. The place was virtually empty, as it wasn't peak season. There is a new section ( I think) and maybe that's where the photos that appear online were taken. We were in the old section ( I am assuming this). My friends were in an adjacent room, and that appeared a bit more modern but still a 3 star room. I have stayed in guest houses in the US, and when someone rates it as a 4 star in the US, that's pretty good. I was hesitant to write the review of this place because maybe I just got the wrong end of the stick for this B & B as most people loved it. As a constant reader of TA, I felt compelled to put my two cents in. Again, I think maybe we were just at the wrong end so be advised as to room location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katvoet, Owner at Leeuwenvoet House, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
We are sorry that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay, but we do thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, our location, and the beds. (We get a lot of good comments about our extra-long king size beds). However, it would make it much easier for us if you have a specific concern, to bring it to our attention as soon as possible in order that we can deal with the matter.

We trust you enjoyed your visit to Cape Town anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leeuwenvoet House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeuwenvoet House

Address: No 8 Kloof Nek Road | 93 New Church Street, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leeuwenvoet House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house is a restored Victorian building with modern interior, in the trendy Kloof Street restaurant district. Walk to the city centre to visit museums, art galleries and gardens. Fifteen individually decorated, en-suite bedrooms with king size or twin, extra long beds, air-conditioning, wi-fi, safe, hairdryer and tea tray. Breakfast is a feast. Splash pool and sundeck with a beautiful view of Table Mountain. Close to Waterfront, Table Mountain, Convention Centre and Camps Bay/Clifton beaches. Enclosed parking. Airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Leeuwenvoet House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeuwenvoet House Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leeuwenvoet House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.