We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leeuwenvoet House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Leeuwenvoet House to your Saves list
Leeuwenvoet House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No 8 Kloof Nek Road | 93 New Church Street, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 147 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
La Possession, Reunion Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

It says 4 stars guesthouse on their website...I agree for the location, breakfast (people were nice) and the quality of the beds but we probably had one of the worst room in the guesthouse. 2 windows in our room one with view on a wall at 50 cm away from the window and the other one had no natural light as they built a deck just above and we had view on the garbage and gardening tools storage. It's not a bad place to stay we've just expected a much better room for the price we've payed for! According to the rates on their website we payed the highest rate you could pay for...just for a standard room!

Room Tip: Ask not to have the room 1002! The ones on 1st and 2nd level seems much nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katvoet, Owner at Leeuwenvoet House, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
We remember you and your lovely family and we hope you enjoyed your visit to Cape Town and South Africa.
We are sorry to hear that you were not entirely happy with your stay but we thank you for your kind compliments about our staff, our breakfast and our beds.
However, upon your departure you advised our manager that you were unhappy with the room, but this gave us no opportunity to offer you an alternative room, which we would have done.
There is a deck above the outside of this room, but there is diffused natural light and the room is cool, which is favoured by most of our guests during the hot summer months. There was no garbage outside the window. About the other window, our boundary wall is 1.1 metres from the window and there is a window flower box.
We are a city guest house and as you rightly pointed out, we have a good location. We do not claim to have views from the guest house, although some of the rooms do have views. What we offer is a spacious, comfortable room, an excellent location in the city, a swimming pool, a sundeck with a superb view of Table Mountain, enclosed off-street parking and staff who go out of their way to make every guest feel special.
We are not sure what price you paid for the room, since your booking came through a tour operator and we have no control over their selling price. However, you did have four persons in the room and the rate included the accommodation and the breakfasts.
Room 1002 has an en-suite bathroom and an area of in excess of 30 sq m; it has a kingsize, extra long bed as well as a large sofa and free standing wardrobe. In addition to this, as there were four people in the room, we accommodated two extra beds.
We hope you will return to South Africa in due course for another enjoyable holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    27
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
32
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We had a premier room, very spacious and clean. Minus: the look from our window view was a wall from the building next door. But we had no time looking through the window, Cape Town has so many attractions!
Yvonne, our hostess in Leeuwenvoet House was very kind and helpful. In fact, everyone was friendly. Good breakfast, choice of eggs. Secure car parking.
Excellent late-flight service: you can shower, leave the luggage stored and the car parked until you like to leave. No problem, super!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

To all the staff at Leeuwenvoet - thank you SO much for making my stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I now know that I have a family in Tamboerskloof. Leeuwenvoet is so conveniently located - central to the buzz that makes Cape Town the amazing city is is! Excellent world class restaurants within walking distance, Long Street - the jewel of Cape Town just round the corner... What more can any traveller want? The amazing newly constructed deck to enjoy early morning coffee and breakfast, feasting on the best view of Table Mountain... Like old Arnie used to say: "I'll be back".

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Thanks to Rod and Helena for making our time in Cape Town enjoyable and relaxing as well as the always useful advise (and for organising our township tour).

The rooms are spacious and clean, breakfast is wonderful and the staff always willing to help.

Leeuwenvoet is a 10 minute drive to the V&A or to Table Bay depending on the direct. And if you fancy a walk to have a meal or drink, plenty of choice only minutes away.

Thanks and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Lovely rooms, feeling of open space from the balcony overlooking a local school. Its a central location and close to Kloof St with its restaurants. The rooms were very clean, with antique but well kept furniture. The staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast was wonderful. As a family of four we had to have two separate rooms but everything was very secure. There is also on site secure parking. The rooms were on the pricier side. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenaMacPhail, Owner at Leeuwenvoet House, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime!
Kind regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Denis, La Réunion
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Me and my girlfirend stay at leeuwenvoet during the world cup
We still thinking about how amazing was south Africa and about the Leeuwenvoet team who were so kind and helpful with us.
The breakfast is amazing, the room very clean and the heater in the bathroom during winter is delighful =)
Many thanks

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Leeuwenvoet is off a busy street, but Kloofnek road itself is a well used side street with plenty of cars and pedestrians. plenty of restaurants (with free wi-fi) nearby, plus grocery stores - only 5 mins away. downtown is about half hour walk away, and V&V waterfront is another additional 15-20 mins walk from downtown. the front entrance of the house faces table mountain.

Staff are friendly and they have good breakfast with hot and cold breakfast items, a wide selection of juices. room is nice and clean, and very well maintained. good water pressure with hot water and air con. there is wi-fi but it is not free.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leeuwenvoet House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeuwenvoet House

Address: No 8 Kloof Nek Road | 93 New Church Street, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leeuwenvoet House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house is a restored Victorian building with modern interior, in the trendy Kloof Street restaurant district. Walk to the city centre to visit museums, art galleries and gardens. Fifteen individually decorated, en-suite bedrooms with king size or twin, extra long beds, air-conditioning, wi-fi, safe, hairdryer and tea tray. Breakfast is a feast. Splash pool and sundeck with a beautiful view of Table Mountain. Close to Waterfront, Table Mountain, Convention Centre and Camps Bay/Clifton beaches. Enclosed parking. Airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Leeuwenvoet House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeuwenvoet House Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leeuwenvoet House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.