We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 2Inn1 Kensington

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
2Inn1 Kensington
Save Saved
You added 2Inn1 Kensington to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Kensington Crescent | Oranjezicht / Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Cape Town Central
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Wow. What can we say? This Cape Town example of a "B&B" is world class and so friendly.

We came to this hotel on our first day in South Africa after a mix-up with our first Cape Town hotel. The booking

agent quickly found this hotel for us and as it was a last-minute arrangement we arrived by taxi a little nervous and unsure what to expect. We needn't have been - from the moment we stepped out of the taxi we had a welcome party

to greet us and manager Steffi made us feel at home right away. She allocated us a wonderful modern room and informed us of a very welcome bottle of chilled wine in our room fridge.

Within the hour Steffi had already brought us drinks and nibbles on the terrace, explained things to do in the local area and even booked us a waterfront restaurant and taxi for the evening.

Every member of the team was great: friendly and helpful and somehow very efficient at the same time.

The hotel is located in a beautiful residential crescent at the foot of Table Mountain with great views. It is very reasonably priced and yet Five Star in every way from the food and service to the care and attention. All the little details are done just right in a way you just wouldn't expect from a typical hotel - on top of large rooms, lovely comfortable bed, and a real luxury bathroom, an i-pod dock is supplied, tours are booked and even a mobile phone is included for each room. The team make you feel completely relaxed and the hotel itself is a beautiful mix of modern design and some great period features.

If we are ever lucky enough to be in Cape Town again we'll be heading right to 2inn1.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
383
15
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

Everything has already been said - Klaus, Chris Steffi and their team combine efficiency, generous hospitality and superb attention to detail to create a haven of calm. At the end of a long day of sightseeing, albeit in one of the most spectacular parts of the world I have visited, returning to 2inn1 and being greeted with the words "I think you'd like a gin and tonic" was music to my ears! Another g&t later with the sun going down and Table Mountain right there - it was perfect. Keep up the good work - we will return!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivybridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

We have just returned from an absolutely stunning 8 day break in Cape Town. I have used trip advisor extensively and the site has never let me down and although I always return home with the intention of submitting a review, well - like most of us, I never quite get around to it. This latest holiday is the exception for the simple reason that the 2Inn1 is really quite an outstanding home - it does really feel like home. Brilliant secluded location with incredible views of Lion's Head and Table Mountain, a friendly super efficient staff who have turned attention to detail into an art form - restaurants and taxis booked and always someone on hand to ensure arrangements actually work. Everything that I have read about the 2Inn1 is correct. Klaus, Chris and their team are up there with the very best.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We can’t speak highly enough of this hotel! Run by the friendliest managers, who offered the best customer service we’ve ever encountered to make our stay in Cape Town a success.

They weren’t just involved with making us comfortable at the hotel itself, but booked trips and tickets for us, recommended places to visit and made dinner reservations at fantastic restaurants. They have the perfect blend of efficiency and friendliness so you know they’ll do what they’ve promised, but without the “stuffiness” you sometimes get in high quality hotels.

By the time we left we felt like we’d make four new friends in the managers, and they send-off we got suggested they felt they were losing members of their own family! If we were to return to Cape Town we wouldn’t even look around, we’d book 2inn1 again immediately, and we've has even written a card of thanks to post to them there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

As all of the others who reviewed this fantastic guest house, we also loved it. Not only is it an exquisite building but the people who work there are extremely warm and friendly. My wife needed a dentist the minute we arrived and Stephie & Claire had a dentist for her within 5 minutes. Upon arrival they give you a cell phone with their telephone number and the taxi service they use in case you need to reach them. Everything was taken care of by these two very able and efficient girls. They took care of all our needs including printouts of everything we asked them to do -- reservations at restaurants, taxis, etc. The rooms were beautiful and the food was excellent. When we come back to Capetown we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

The 2Inn1 was the perfect base to stay at for our adventure in Cape Town. The facilities are chic, beautiful and extremely comfortable and I looked forward each evening to returning to the hotel after our day of touring for sundowners while we planned dinner. The staff were all so friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were outstanding. We took advantage of restaurant suggestions and the taxi service and were not disappointed!! We each also had a massage in the gorgeous spa room which was excellent! They definitely deserve the #1 rating!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and loved it. The rooms are large and luxurious and well lit, with heated floors throughout. The common areas are chic and comfortable. Breakfast is plentiful, varied, and amazing. The staff are very helpful. Internet connectivity is great, with free wifi with good signal in your room and a communal laptop if you don't have your own device. They have a great relationship with Excite Taxis, which can be relied on and is always ready for you. Best thing, you get a pay as you go mobile to use while in town, with zero markup rates.

I highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 2Inn1 Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 2Inn1 Kensington

Address: 21 Kensington Crescent | Oranjezicht / Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 2Inn1 Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2inn1 Kensington is flanked by the imposing slopes of Table Mountain and Lion's Head. It combines an authentically, stylishly remodeled Victorian house and a modern designed bungalow set in a beautiful tranquil garden. The pool area has sunbathed terraces offering magnificent views. The luxury rooms are equipped with every possible comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
2inn1 Kensington Hotel Cape Town Central
2Inn1 Kensington Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 2Inn1 Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.