We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 2Inn1 Kensington

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
2Inn1 Kensington
Save Saved
You added 2Inn1 Kensington to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Kensington Crescent | Oranjezicht / Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Cape Town Central
florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best service ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

They went above and beyond. The local cell phone is great to coordinate taxi pickups and tours. They coordinated our reservations at la colombe and test kitchen for us as well as the taxi for them which was very helpful. we had great views of lions head and table mountain from our balcony. The staff will coordinate everything by email before you go and almost always answer emails instantly. Breakfast was on your time and always an option for made to order. The last day our flight was at 11pm and we had a tour till 3pm that day. THe staff coordinated massages for us and then let us use a room to shower and change and that made the 12 hour flight more tolerable. HIGHLY RECOMMEND-BEST SERVICE EVER AND WE TRAVEL A LOT

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
375
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Went on a short trip from London for a wedding so had 3 nights there. What a great find - nothing too much trouble for the team and great atmosphere and location. Good local restaurants were recommended and one night the hotel helped us get a take away delivered while they chilled the wine we'd just bought out in the vineyards (again - great recommendations). My wife thought the bed was ever so slightly hard and I'd have to agree but that is almost at the splitting hairs end of feedback. If we go back as a family there is a family room we'd take. In short, the team work so hard to ensure their guests are well catered for that I can understand why they have such good reviews.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed here for four nights at the end of our tour of South Africa. Yes, it certainly lived up to it's reputation. Steffi met us the door and guided us to drinks on the terrace, whilst our luggage was delivered to our rooms. Bliss. The decor of the rooms were lovely, but it's the attention to detail that makes this place stand out from all the rest. Anything we wanted, no problem. Where did we fancy eating? Steffi or Claire booked the reservation and ordered a taxi. And their suggestions were always spot on, they listened to what sort of place you liked and offered a couple of choices. Klaus and Chris, the owners, were always on hand to chat or advise. It was indeed a grand finale to what was a memorable holiday. We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our SA holiday. We booked the 2Inn1 based on reviews from TripAdvisor and we certainly weren't disappointed. We were treated like guests staying at a friends house rather than just another anonymous hotel client. Every single member of staff we came across was absolutely delightful and everyone went out of their way to ensure we had what we needed during our stay. What was particularly nice was to see the owners mucking in with the rest of the staff doing the "dirty" jobs such as serving and clearing up after breakfast. There are some 5* hotels which could learn a thing or two from this personal (but friendly rather than formal) service.

The rooms (we had a standard room with no balcony) are modern and well equipped and we found ours always spotlessly clean. The breakfast buffet was varied and plentiful and they even had HP sauce to go on the bacon & eggs (sadly I usually carry my own bottle when we go on holiday but I'd given it away to a Brazilian guy we met earler on our trip who was quite taken with it when he tried it)!

The 2Inn1 is located in a quiet area of Cape Town virtually on the foothills of Table Mountain. It costs about 50 Rand (approx £4.50) to get a taxi to the V&A Waterfront or Camps Bay both of which are well worth a visit. The views from the top of Table Mountain are genuinely spectacular but I would recommend going up there at your first opportunity (regardless of what you have planned) as the weather can change very quickly and the top becomes shrouded in cloud.

There are several restaurants about 10 mins walk from the hotel and we enjoyed a meal in Bacini's Italian restaurant which served good food at laughably reasonable prices. It felt reasonably safe walking after dark in the vicinity of the hotel but always take advice from the hotel staff who are happy to advise on security matters.

Just to reinforce the comments on personal service we were left a lengthy hand-written note on our last evening from the owners thanking us for staying with them and wishing us a safe onward journey - most unexpected but in keeping with the fantastic service we received throughout our stay.

Overall we thought this was a fantastic place to stay and if we ever went back to Cape Town we would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed at 2Inn1 at the beginning of November for 4 nights and it was completely fabulous. As two mature/old women we are used to being overlooked or ignored, not so here! Having just stepped off the plane in the early morning and driven to the hotel we were met by Klaus with a very welcome drink and whilst waiting for our room to be serviced he discussed with us possible options for our stay. Within no time at all, tables were booked for each evening meal with taxi pick up times to match. The programme for each day finalised and we thought we had landed in heaven - we had!.
The whole staff team are exceptional, they have got the right combination of friendliness and efficiency and all worked so hard.
The touches of having your own cell phone with taxi and hotel numbers pre-programmed is inspirational.
The open ended breakfast times must be unique - (certainly wouldn't happen in the UK!) and they were fabulous. Weight was not lost!
We will return - its just a matter of when.
Thank you all so much for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I have just returned from a week's stay at 2inn1 and can truly say that it is the best hotel in which I have stayed......ever.

From the moment I was greeted at the gate on arrival, and my bag taken from the car, I was made to feel so very welcome. This was a feeling which would last my entire stay, with absolutely nothing being a problem for the staff, and every request catered for.... unquestionably.

My room was perfect and had the most awesome views of Table Mountain, Lion's Head and Signal Hill. To wake up in the morning and have a coffee on the terrace, looking at these amazing sights just took my breath away.....every day.

The decoration and facilities in the room were exceptionally well thought out. Providing a cell phone is an inspired idea. The wi-fi, throughout the house, is complimentary, with a very strong signal which never failed once during my stay. The bed was huge and, together with the high quality linens, was intensely comfortable. Nightly turn-down service was discrete and made for a welcoming return to the room after an evening in Cape Town.

Breakfast is so laid back and comforting, with a large assortment of food to start your day. Hot food is cooked to perfection. The tiny grilled tomatoes were the sweetest I have ever eaten and the entire, unrushed start to the day was simply unrivalled.

The atmosphere during the day is amazingly restful and, certainly for me, the absence of any children was a massive bonus and contributed to the superbly comforting ambience.

There are not enough words to describe how friendly, accommodating and helpful all the staff are, particularly in recommending restaurants or places to go, and making the booking for you and printing out menus and directions. The whole process of deciding what to do in the evening is made all the more pleasant while drinking a sundowner on the terrace as the sun sets. Truly magical.

It must be incredibly hard work to make 2inn1 the special place that it is, but all the staff make it look so effortless. Thank you for creating a piece of paradise in one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited, and for making it a truly special place to stay. The memories which were made during my week there will remain with me for ever. Thank you.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 9, in the new part of the house, and would honestly say that I think it had the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

3rd stay at 2inn1 and only keeps getting better. This place is genuinely one of a kind, and I doubt you find a better guest house anywhere in the world. Totally unsurpassed, Klaus, Chris, Steffi and Claire are the best hosts you could ever wish for. They are kind and genuine and incredibly hard working, and bend over backwards to accomodate any request. This place is a true one of its kind. Please never change! It goes without saying that we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 2Inn1 Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 2Inn1 Kensington

Address: 21 Kensington Crescent | Oranjezicht / Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 2Inn1 Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2inn1 Kensington is flanked by the imposing slopes of Table Mountain and Lion's Head. It combines an authentically, stylishly remodeled Victorian house and a modern designed bungalow set in a beautiful tranquil garden. The pool area has sunbathed terraces offering magnificent views. The luxury rooms are equipped with every possible comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
2inn1 Kensington Hotel Cape Town Central
2Inn1 Kensington Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 2Inn1 Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.