We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compare like with like.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skydive Cape Town

Skydive Cape Town
R27 | Melkbosstrand, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27 82 800 6290
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Sports Camps/ Clinics
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Skydiving or parachuting is a must-do for adrenaline junkies and Cape Town has one of the world's most scenic Drop Zones.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Compare like with like.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

To Shelley Bonito
From your review having done 1 jump at Plettenberg Bay and then another at Cape Town is a rather thin skydiving CV to be so critical. You must compare like with like. Cape Town is SA's second largest city and for a DZ to be located a 20 minute drive from City Hall is not a great distance. In fact it is the most convenient DZ to any major city in SA. Once you start travelling the world you will understand how good it really is. Cities are not skydiving friendly locations when you take controlled air space, noise pollution constraints and finding space for a small airfield and DZ into account. By contrast Plettenberg Bay is a small coastal town with the airfield right on the perimeter and a stones throw away from the ocean. Be fair.
Ron E Ripcord

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    6
    0
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I was surprised with a jump (my first) as a 50th birthday present and accompanied by a good friend, as well as my brother in law, who decided at the last moment to join us. What a great experience. I will never forget it. And the guys we jumped with were fantastic! Well done Skydive Cape Town!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Amazing group of people bring you back down to earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

You can skydive anywhere in the world.. This group of people made the experience safe, relaxed and enjoyable by being informative, organized, warm and friendly. The surrounds are simple and rustic .. A hanger full of guys with a passion for free falling and clippings on the wall of their history including pics of prince Harry taking the pluge with them. You are always aware of the process you will follow and what you need to do to enjoy the drop safely.
They called us 4x's during the day to keep us informed of the weather and progress. When we got there they were expecting us and kept us informed of what to expect in the process. I'll def go back .. Was a great experience with laughs the whole way through ..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Spoke Films”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

One of the "activities" we send our clients to do, that ensures they go home with plenty to say about Cape Town.
These guys ensure my clients are safe and sound each and every time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bad service, unfriendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I was really unhappy with the way i was treated by skydive cape town - after skydiving in plettenberg bay, i decided to do a second jump, and found the company very card to get hold of (you can never hear them on the phone) very far from Cape Town centre, and almost ungrateful that i was spending my money with them. I would much rather go back to Plettenberg and jump there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skydive Cape Town also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Skydive Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skydive Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.